Université de Strasbourg


Call for proposals for 2019 USIAS Fellowships

The call for proposals for 2019 USIAS Fellowships has been launched. USIAS welcomes applications...

Honours for Thomas Ebbesen

Thomas Ebbesen, USIAS Chair of Physical Chemistry of light-matter interactions and Director of...

New USIAS Fellowships 2018

Following the call for 2018 USIAS Fellowships, 15 projects have been selected with 17 Fellows,...

New book by David Le Breton - Sensing the World: An Anthropology of the Senses

A new book by David Le Breton, Professor of Sociology and Anthropology at the University of...

USIAS in brief

The University of Strasbourg Institute for Advanced Study (USIAS) was created in 2012 to fund excellent, original research in all scientific domains and to serve as a place of intellectual innovation. USIAS is a flagship project of the Excellence Initiative (IdEx) of the University of Strasbourg, and is part of the national strategy for Investments in the Future (Investissements d’Avenir) of France.

In order to realise this mission, USIAS welcomes excellent researchers from all countries and all disciplinary backgrounds. Each year, the Institute selects 10-20 Fellows for a period of between three months and two years to undertake innovative research. In addition, the institute hosts short visits and organises special lecture series and conferences.

Strasbourg is the seat of important European institutions such as the Council of Europe, the European Court of Human Rights, and the European Parliament. Its historic city centre with the thousand-year old Cathédrale de Notre Dame is classified as a UNESCO World Heritage site, as is the late 19th century Neustadt area adjacent to the central campus of the University of Strasbourg

The University of Strasbourg, currently the second largest in France, traces its history back to 1631. It has been home to historic figures such as Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Louis Pasteur, Georg Simmel, Albert Schweitzer and Marc Bloch. The University is part of the League of European Research Universities (LERU) and is one of three universities in France who have been awarded a permanent excellence status in the context of the IdEx. The University currently counts four Nobel laureates (1987, 2011, 2013, 2016), three of which sit on the USIAS Governing Board.

Investissements d'Avenir