Université de Strasbourg

Jean-Pierre Sauvage

Chair of Chemical topology & molecular machines

JP Sauvage

Jean-Pierre Sauvage, recipient of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2016, completed his PhD at the Louis-Pasteur University (Strasbourg I) under the supervision of Jean-Marie Lehn, himself a Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1987. In thesis PhD research, he developed the first synthesis of cryptand ligands.  He was a researcher at the CNRS in Strasbourg from 1971 to 2014. He currently holds the Chair of  Chemical topology & molecular machines at the Institute of Advanced Studies of the University of Strasbourg (USIAS). His laboratory is at the Institute of Supramolecular Science and Engineering, ISIS (CNRS / University of Strasbourg).

Jean-Pierre Sauvage is an international pioneer in molecular machines. These devices are assemblies of molecules capable of changing shape while keeping their topology, as well as moving in a controlled fashion under the effect of light, thermal or electrical signals, for example. Professor Sauvage and his team succeeded in particular in developing and synthesizing molecular systems reproducing rotation, translation and contraction movements in the same way as a muscular fiber or other important biological processes.

He was awarded the bronze medal of the CNRS in 1978 and the silver medal of the CNRS in 1988, and is a recipient of many other scientific awards. He is a member of the French Academy of Sciences (1997), Knight of the National Order of the Legion of Honor and Grand Officer of the National Order of Merit (2016).

In 2016, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry alongside Britain's J. Fraser Stoddart and Dutchman Bernard L. Feringa. They were rewarded for the design and synthesis of "molecular machines". The work of Jean-Pierre Sauvage gives the nanosciences a new dimension with the development of molecular machines capable of reproducing movements of the living world.

Investissements d'Avenir