Université de Strasbourg

Marie Bizais-Lillig

Biography - Marie Bizais-Lillig

Research Group on Oriental, Slavonic and Modern Greek Studies (GEO), University of Strasbourg, France

Marie Bizais-Lillig, USIAS Fellow 2021Marie Bizais-Lillig has been associate professor of Chinese studies in the Faculty of Languages and member of GEO at the University of Strasbourg since 2009. After studying literature and sinology, she specialised in the study of medieval Chinese poetry and poetics. Her doctoral dissertation (Inalco, 2008) analysed the classificatory model of textual space established by Liu Xie 劉勰 (c. 465-521) in the Wenxin diaolong 文心雕龍 [Spirit of Literature in Chiseled Dragons]. Later on, her research shifted to focus on intertextual phenomena in poetry, highlighting the lingering influence of the ancient anthology of the Shijing 詩經 [Classic of Poetry] in the field of poetic composition.

She has devoted several articles to analyzing these ancient poems, their reception over the centuries, the commentaries they have triggered, as well as the translations they have inspired. Ever since she received a Taiwan Fellowship in 2017 to carry out her research at the National Taiwan Library, Marie Bizais-Lillig has been investigating the anthology's status as a Confucian classic and its implications. During a 12-month delegation at the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) in 2019/2020, her exploration of commentaries of an encyclopedic nature – which gather all available information on elements of fauna, flora, objects, or constellations present in the Shijing – led her to form a working group on commentary practice in ancient China and Japan. This research also inspired her to develop a new approach to medieval texts, combining philological analysis and automated text mining, to reveal mechanisms of knowledge transmission – at the heart of her USIAS project.

Project - The role played by poetry in the economy of knowledge in medieval China

01/09/2021 - 31/08/2023

The project, abbreviated here to CHI-KNOW-PO, which Marie Bizais-Lillig will conduct during her Fellowship at USIAS, aims to demonstrate that the textual realm in medieval China (220-907) was continuous and that intertextuality was not specific to poetry. As a consequence, knowledge, along with its textual fragments, circulated through many different genres.

CHI-KNOW-PO has adopted a historical and integrative perspective in order to overcome the bias of a fragmented conception of texts produced by distinct modern disciplines. A conscious consideration is to give repositories of knowledge such as lexicons and encyclopaedias, which have been largely neglected and therefore remain marginal in sinological research, the same attention as valued textual heritage, given that these repositories played an essential role in education and erudition.

The project focuses on the theme of plants, which hold a central position in Chinese poetic grammar. The plan is to reconstruct the paths that textual fragments concerning plants travelled, within a body of texts composed of five parts: the Shijing [Classic of Poetry] that stood as a point of reference for all literati, successive commentaries on the Classic, elegant texts of the medieval period that refer to these same plants, the first dictionaries, lexicons and encyclopaedias, as well as technical works and treatises.

CHI-KNOW-PO will build a large textual digital database. Alongside established methodologies such as philology and textual analysis, the project will develop computational tools to verify how pieces of information circulated through all kinds of texts. By revealing and investigating networks of texts, which partially share common representations of plants, the project will demonstrate the role played by poetry in the economy of knowledge in medieval times.

More specifically, the project will evaluate the extent to which medieval poets borrowed expressions directly from original sources and show what inspiration these poets found in compiled sources. The project will also help qualify how different textual genres were vectors of knowledge and determine if poetry also constituted a repository of knowledge. Such a shift in perspective will challenge the line drawn between “documents” and “literary texts” and link together disconnected texts. It will thus paint a more accurate picture of literati activities in medieval China and reassess preconceptions related to the impact of specific texts, the process of composition and the definition of knowledge.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Marie Bizais-Lillig

Biographie - Marie Bizais-Lillig

Groupe d'études orientales, slaves et néo-helléniques (GEO) - UR 1340, université de Strasbourg, France

Marie Bizais-Lillig, USIAS Fellow 2021Marie Bizais-Lillig est maître de conférences en études chinoises à la faculté des langues et membre du GEO (UR 1340) au sein de l’université de Strasbourg depuis 2009. Après des études de lettres et de sinologie, elle s’est spécialisée dans l’étude de la poésie et de la poétique chinoises médiévales. Sa thèse de doctorat (Inalco, 2008) propose une analyse du modèle classificatoire de l’espace textuel établi par Liu Xie 劉勰 (ca. 465-521) dans le Wenxin diaolong 文心雕龍 [Esprit de littérature en dragons ciselés]. Par la suite, ses recherches se sont concentrées sur les phénomènes d’intertextualité dans la poésie et ont mis en évidence l’influence persistante de l’anthologie antique du Shijing 詩經 [Classique des Poèmes] dans le champ de la composition poétique.

Elle a consacré plusieurs articles à ces poèmes anciens, à leur réception au fil des siècles, aux commentaires qu’ils ont suscités ainsi qu’aux traductions auxquelles ils ont donné lieu. Depuis un séjour de recherche à la Bibliothèque nationale de Taïwan en 2017 (Taiwan Fellowship), Marie Bizais-Lillig interroge le statut de classique confucéen de l’anthologie ainsi que ses implications. Elle a profité d’une délégation de douze mois au CNRS en 2019-2020 pour explorer des commentaires de nature encyclopédique qui traitent de la faune, de la flore, des objets ou des constellations dans le Shijing par la sélection et l’accumulation d’informations à leur sujet. Ces travaux l’ont conduite à constituer un groupe de travail sur la pratique commentariale dans la Chine et le Japon anciens. Ces recherches l’ont également amenée à concevoir une nouvelle approche des textes médiévaux, mêlant analyse philologique et fouille automatisée des textes et visant à révéler des mécanismes de transmission des savoirs, au cœur d’un projet qui sera conduit au sein de l’USIAS.

Projet - Le rôle de la poésie dans l’économie des savoirs de la Chine médiévale

01/09/2021 - 31/08/2023

Le projet que Marie Bizais-Lillig conduira pendant sa résidence à l'USIAS et dont l’intitulé est ramassé sous l’acronyme CHI-KNOW-PO vise à démontrer que, dans la Chine médiévale (220-907), l’espace textuel était continu et que l'intertextualité ne concernait pas seulement le champ poétique. Les savoirs comme les fragments textuels circulaient donc à travers des genres variés.

Afin de dépasser le biais induit par une fragmentation de l’espace textuel produite par des disciplines modernes et distinctes, CHI-KNOW-PO adopte une perspective historique et intégrative. Notant que les lieux de savoirs tels que les lexiques et les encyclopédies ont été largement négligés et restent donc très marginaux dans la recherche sinologique alors qu’ils jouaient un rôle essentiel dans l'éducation et l'érudition, ce projet prend le parti de leur octroyer la même attention que celle qu’obtient habituellement le patrimoine littéraire.

Le projet se concentre sur le thème des plantes, qui occupent une place centrale dans la grammaire poétique chinoise. Il se propose de reconstruire les chemins parcourus par les fragments textuels relatifs aux plantes au sein d'un corpus composé de cinq parties : le Shijing [Classique des Poèmes] qui constituait une pierre angulaire de la culture lettrée, les commentaires successifs du Classique, les textes élégants de la période médiévale qui mentionnent les mêmes plantes, les premiers dictionnaires, lexiques et encyclopédies, ainsi que les ouvrages et traités techniques.

Le projet CHI-KNOW-PO constituera une vaste base de données textuelles. Parallèlement aux méthodologies traditionnelles telles que la philologie et l'analyse textuelle, il développera des outils informatiques pour montrer comment les informations circulaient à travers toutes sortes de textes. En révélant et en étudiant les réseaux de textes qui partagent partiellement des représentations communes des plantes, le projet montrera le rôle joué par la poésie dans l’économie de la connaissance à l’époque médiévale.

Plus précisément, le projet évaluera comment les poètes médiévaux empruntaient des expressions directement aux sources originales et montrera quelle inspiration ces poètes trouvaient dans les sources compilées. Il permettra d’établir dans quelle mesure les fragments textuels qui circulaient à travers les textes relevaient du savoir, et de préciser quel type de lieu de savoirs pouvait constituer la poésie. Par ce changement de paradigme, qui remet en cause la ligne de démarcation entre « documents » et « textes littéraires », le projet CHI-KNOW-PO permettra de mettre en relation des textes déconnectés et de décrire plus complètement et plus précisément les activités des lettrés. Il renouvellera nos représentations concernant l'influence de certaines sources, le processus de composition textuelle mais aussi la définition de la connaissance dans la Chine médiévale.

Investissements d'Avenir