Université de Strasbourg

Semyon Klevtsov

Biography - Semyon Klevtsov

Institute for Advanced Mathematical Research (IRMA), University of Strasbourg and CNRS

Semyon Klevtsov, USIAS Fellow 2020Semyon Klevtsov obtained his PhD in mathematical physics in 2009 at Rutgers University (USA). After a post-doctoral fellowship at the Free University of Brussels (Belgium) he has, since 2012, held the positions of Humboldt postdoctoral fellow and, subsequently, principal investigator at the Mathematical Institute of the University of Cologne, funded by the German Science Foundation (DFG). During his time there, he received the 2015 Max Delbrück prize for junior researchers. In 2019, he joined the Institute for Advanced Mathematical Research (IRMA) at the University of Strasbourg, as professor of mathematical physics.

His research interests focus on modern mathematical physics, and include random metrics and random surfaces, Bergman kernels, Kahler geometry and geometric methods in physics, in particular in quantum mechanics and quantum field theory. More recently, he has been interested in mathematics of the strongly correlated electron systems in condensed matter physics.

Project - Geometry of Quantum Hall States

01/09/2020 - 31/08/2022

Quantum Hall effect (QHE) is a remarkable phenomenon, which occurs in certain two-dimensional electron systems subjected to low temperatures and strong magnetic fields. In essence, the Hall conductance in these situations takes on quantised values, i.e., integer or fractional values with a very high precision, exceptional for materials with impurities. Since its discovery in the 1980s, the quantum Hall effect continues to fascinate scientists, as an example of a physical system, where quantum effects can be observed macroscopically. Applications of QHE systems vary from precision metrology to potential platforms for quantum computing.

The aim of this project is to develop the geometric theory of the N-particle wave functions, describing the correlated electronic states in the quantum Hall effect. Since the early pioneering work on the theory of QHE by Laughlin, Thouless, Simon and later work by Haldane, Bellissard, Fröhlich, Avron-Seiler-Zograf, Read, Wen, Wiegmann and others — it was understood that the explanation for the quantum Hall phenomena is essentially geometric in nature. The goal of this project is to further develop the mathematical side of this theory.

In particular, the plan is to address several important physics conjectures in the field, such as the topological degeneracy of quantum Hall states, tentative existence of the asymptotically projective flat adiabatic connection for the transport of the states on various parameter spaces, and existence of large N asymptotic limits. This project is at the intersection of modern mathematical physics, many-body quantum mechanics, geometry, analysis and probability. The main tools come from the geometry of Riemann surfaces, moduli spaces, holomorphic line bundles, Bergman kernels, Kahler geometry, Gaussian free fields. The expected outcome of the project is to uncover new exciting connections of the QHE states with various aspects of modern geometry and physics.

Post-doctoral position in mathematical physics

  • Dates: Start in October 2020, for 23 months
  • Place of work: CNRS/University of Strasbourg, Institute for Advanced Mathematical Research (IRMA), France
  • Application deadline: 1 September 2020
  • Read the full announcement (posted 30/06/2020, updated 09/07/2020)
Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Semyon Klevtsov

Biographie - Semyon Klevtsov

Institut de recherche mathématique avancée (IRMA) - UMR 7501, université de Strasbourg et CNRS

Semyon Klevtsov, USIAS Fellow 2020Semyon Klevtsov a effectué son doctorat en physique mathématique en 2009 à l'université Rutgers (États-Unis). Après une bourse postdoctorale à l'université libre de Bruxelles (Belgique), il est devenu en 2012 boursier postdoctoral Humboldt, puis chercheur principal DFG (Fondation allemande pour la recherche) au sein de l’institut de mathématiques de l'université de Cologne. Pendant son séjour, il a reçu le prix Max Delbrück 2015 pour les jeunes chercheurs. En 2019, il a rejoint l'Institut de recherche mathématique avancée (IRMA) de l'université de Strasbourg en tant que professeur de physique mathématique.

Ses intérêts de recherche se concentrent sur la physique mathématique moderne et incluent les mesures aléatoires et les surfaces aléatoires, les noyaux de Bergman, la géométrie de Kahler et les méthodes géométriques en physique, en particulier en mécanique quantique et théorie quantique des champs. Plus récemment, il s'est intéressé aux mathématiques des systèmes d'électrons fortement corrélés en physique de la matière condensée.


Projet - Géométrie des états Hall quantiques

01/09/2020 - 31/08/2022

L'effet Hall quantique (EHQ) est un phénomène remarquable, qui se produit dans certains systèmes d'électrons bidimensionnels soumis à de basses températures et à de forts champs magnétiques. En substance, la conductance de Hall dans ces situations prend des valeurs quantifiées, c'est-à-dire entières ou fractionnaires avec une très haute précision, exceptionnelles pour les matériaux avec des impuretés. Depuis sa découverte dans les années 1980, l'effet Hall quantique continue de fasciner les scientifiques en tant qu'exemple d'un système physique où les effets quantiques peuvent être observés macroscopiquement. Les applications des systèmes EHQ varient de la métrologie de précision aux plateformes potentielles pour l'informatique quantique.

Le but de ce projet est de développer la théorie géométrique des fonctions d'onde des particules N, décrivant les états électroniques corrélés dans l'effet Hall quantique. Depuis les premiers travaux pionniers sur la théorie de l’EHQ par Laughlin, Thouless, Simon, et plus tard les travaux de Haldane, Bellissard, Fröhlich, Avron-Seiler-Zograf, Read, Wen, Wiegmann (entre autres), il était entendu que l'explication du phénomène Hall quantique est essentiellement de nature géométrique. Ce projet a pour objectif de développer davantage le côté mathématique de cette théorie.

Il prévoit en particulier d'aborder plusieurs conjectures physiques importantes dans le domaine, telles que la dégénérescence topologique des états Hall quantiques, l'existence provisoire de la connexion adiabatique plane asymptotiquement projective pour le transport des états sur divers espaces de paramètres et l'existence des limites asymptotiques de grand N. Ce projet se situe à l'intersection de la physique mathématique moderne, de la mécanique quantique à plusieurs corps, de la géométrie, de l'analyse et des probabilités. Les principaux outils utilisés proviennent de la géométrie des surfaces de Riemann, des espaces de modules, des faisceaux de lignes holomorphes, des noyaux de Bergman, de la géométrie de Kahler et des champs libres gaussiens. Les résultats attendus de ce projet consistent en la découverte de nouvelles connexions importantes des états EHQ avec divers aspects de la géométrie et de la physique modernes.

Post-doctoral position in mathematical physics

  • Dates: Start in October 2020, for 23 months
  • Place of work: CNRS/University of Strasbourg, Institute for Advanced Mathematical Research (IRMA), France
  • Application deadline: 1 September 2020
  • Read the full announcement (posted 30/06/2020, updated 09/07/2020)
Investissements d'Avenir