Université de Strasbourg

Pierre Mobian

Biography - Pierre Mobian

Complex Matter Chemistry (CMC), University of Strasbourg and CNRS

Pierre Mobian, USIAS Fellow 2020Pierre Mobian received a doctorate in coordination chemistry from the Louis Pasteur University in Strasbourg in 2003. His thesis, which was carried out under the direction of Professor Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Professor Jean-Marc Kern, focused on the synthesis of molecular machines that set in motion when exposed to light. He then joined Professor Jérôme Lacour's team at the University of Geneva, Switzerland, for a two-year post-doctoral fellowship to synthesise organic enantiopure cations. After another year as a post-doctoral researcher in the laboratory led by Professor Jean-Pierre Sauvage, once more in the field of molecular machines, he was appointed, in 2006, as lecturer within the team of Professor Marc Henry. Since his appointment, he has developed a controlled chemistry of titanium(IV) that can be applied to three main areas: the creation of self-assembled architectures, the formation of oxo-clusters for hybrid materials and the development of anti-cancer drugs. His scientific interests are very broad, and include coordination chemistry, organic chemistry, molecular chirality and material chemistry.

In 2017, Dr. Mobian obtained the habilitation à diriger des recherches (accreditation to lead research). He was a visiting professor at two Japanese universities in 2018: the Tokyo Institute of Technology and Nagoya University. He has recently been involved in three substantial scientific projects, and is involved in the management of the degree programme at the Faculty of Chemistry, University of Strasbourg.

Project – Enantioselective synthesis of metal oxides from oxo-clusters generated inside chiral self-assembled organic templates

01/11/2020 - 30/04/2022

Metal oxides or mixed metal oxides are a major class of inorganic materials, which display a wide spectrum of physical properties of technical importance, such as metallic conductivity, superconductivity, ferromagnetism, antiferromagnetism, ferroelectricity, antiferroelectricity, pyroelectricity or piezoelectricity. Most of these properties, like ferroelectricity, pyroelectricity, or piezoelectricity, are a direct result of the symmetry of their crystalline networks; more than 500 oxides with a noncentrosymmetric crystal structure have been reported in the literature. Among these noncentrosymmetric crystal oxides, many oxides (around 200) are enantiomorphic, i.e. the two enantiomers of the oxide form during the crystal growth.

Contrary to the fields of organic and coordination chemistry that propose an impressive number of synthetic methods to access enantiopure products, the enantioselective synthesis of purely inorganic materials is much less developed. Whilst nature has demonstrated how the action of enantiopure biomolecules can control the handedness of biomineralised chiral architecture, the synthesis of inorganic nonbiological chiral systems remains an extremely challenging scientific task.

This project therefore aims to propose a general synthetic strategy, which combines self-assembly processes and oxo-cluster chemistry to access enantiopure inorganic phases by transferring a chiral information from the molecular level to the cristalline solid. The enantiopure metal oxides will be obtained from chiral oxo-cluster precursors via a calcination process. These oxo-clusters will result from the reaction of an enantiopure organic cage with metal alkoxides. The environment provided by the chiral three-dimensional organic framework will model the growth of the oxo-metallic cores. Imine condensations will be employed to obtain, in a one-step reaction, the cages that incorporate endo coordinating groups. From a long-term perspective, since the precursors are potentially soluble in common organic media due to the hybrid organic-inorganic composition of these nano-sized compounds, the application of chemical solution deposition techniques could be used to manufacture chiral metal oxide thin films.

Links

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Pierre Mobian

Biographie - Pierre Mobian

Chimie de la matière complexe (CMC) - UMR 7140, université de Strasbourg et CNRS

Pierre Mobian, USIAS Fellow 2020Pierre Mobian a obtenu un doctorat en chimie de coordination à l’université Louis Pasteur de Strasbourg en 2003. Cette thèse, réalisée sous la direction des professeurs Jean-Pierre Sauvage et Jean-Marc Kern, portait sur la synthèse de machines moléculaires mises en mouvement sous l’action de la lumière. Il a ensuite rejoint l’équipe du professeur Jérôme Lacour à l’université de Genève (Suisse) pour un séjour postdoctoral de deux années visant à synthétiser des cations organiques énantiomériquement purs. Après une année supplémentaire en tant que chercheur postdoctoral au sein du laboratoire dirigé par le professeur Jean-Pierre Sauvage, à nouveau dans le domaine des machines moléculaires, il obtient en 2006 un poste de maître de conférences dans l’équipe du professeur Marc Henry. Depuis cette nomination, il développe une chimie contrôlée du titane(IV) appliquée à trois domaines principaux : la création d’architectures auto-assemblées, la formation d’oxo-clusters pour des matériaux hybrides et l’élaboration de médicaments anti-cancéreux. Ses intérêts scientifiques sont très larges et incluent la chimie de coordination, la chimie organique, la chiralité moléculaire et la chimie des matériaux.

En 2017, il obtient son habilitation à diriger des recherches. Il y deux ans, il a été professeur invité au sein de deux universités japonaises (le Tokyo Institute of Technology et l’université de Nagoya). Il est lauréat de trois appels à projets. Par ailleurs, il est co-responsable de la licence de chimie de la faculté de chimie de Strasbourg.

Projet - Synthèse asymétrique d’oxydes métalliques issus d’oxo-clusters générés au sein de cages organiques chirales autoassemblées

01/11/2020 - 30/04/2022

Les oxydes métalliques et les oxydes métalliques mixtes constituent une catégorie de matériaux inorganiques particulièrement importante qui possède une large variété de propriétés physiques comme la conductivité, le ferromagnétisme, l’antiferromagnétisme, la pyroélectricité ou la piézoélectricité. La plupart de ces propriétés comme la ferroélectricité, la pyroélectricité ou la piézoélectricité découlent directement de la symétrie des réseaux cristallins et plus de 500 oxydes ayant un système cristallin non centrosymétrique ont été décrits dans la littérature. Parmi ces oxydes non centrosymétriques, beaucoup (environ 200) sont énantiomorphes, c’est-à-dire que les deux énantiomères de l’oxyde sont formés durant la croissance cristalline.

Contrairement à la chimie de coordination ou à la chimie organique qui proposent de nombreuses méthodes synthétiques pour accéder à des composés énantiomériquement purs, la synthèse asymétrique de matériaux inorganiques est très peu développée. Néanmoins, la Nature a démontré que l’hélicité d’architectures biominérales peut être contrôlée grâce à des molécules biologiques énantiomériquement pures. La synthèse de systèmes chiraux inorganiques non biologiques demeure un important défi scientifique.

Ce projet propose de développer une méthode synthétique générale combinant la chimie d’auto-assemblage et la chimie des oxo-clusters afin d’accéder à des phases inorganiques énantiomériquement pures via le transfert d’une information chirale de la molécule vers le solide inorganique. Les oxydes métalliques énantiomériquement purs seront obtenus à partir d’oxo-clusters hybrides par calcination. Ces oxo-clusters vont être formés en faisant réagir une cage chirale et un alcoxyde métallique. L’environnement offert par cette cage chirale tridimensionelle gouvernera la croissance du cœur oxo-métallique. Des réactions de formation d’imines seront mises en œuvre afin d’obtenir en une étape des cages incorporant des groupes coordinants dirigés vers l’intérieur des cages. Une perspective à long terme consistera à fabriquer des films fins chiraux d’oxyde métallique grâce à des techniques de déposition en s’appuyant sur la bonne solubilité attendue dans les solvants organiques de ces cages emprisonnant un oxo-cluster.

Liens

Investissements d'Avenir