Université de Strasbourg

Demian Battaglia

Biography

CNRS and Institute for Systems Neuroscience (INS), Aix-Marseille University, France & USIAS Fellow, Laboratory of Cognitive and Adaptative Neuroscience (LNCA), University of Strasbourg and CNRS

Demian Battaglia, USIAS Fellow 2020

Demian Battaglia obtained his PhD in 2005 at the International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA, Trieste, Italy), working at the interface between statistical physics and information sciences. He then reoriented his research interests toward theoretical neuroscience, under the direction of Dr. David Hansel and Dr. Nicolas Brunel at the Paris Descartes University (France). Since 2009, he has held the positions of independent staff scientist at the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organisation (MPIDS) in Göttingen (Germany) in the Nonlinear Dynamics department (led by Professor Theo Geisel); and of project leader within the Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience (BCCN). Bernstein Fellow in 2013 and Marie Curie fellow in 2014, he obtained a permanent position at the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) in 2015. Since then, he serves as faculty member at the Institute for Systems Neuroscience at Aix-Marseille University (led by Dr. Viktor Jirsa).

Dr. Battaglia’s current research explores the links between structure, dynamics and function in neural circuits at different scales, from neuronal cultures to brain-wide networks, using a combination of computational modelling, information theory and machine learning approaches. He is particularly interested in the role that oscillatory and network dynamics play in neuronal information processing.

During his USIAS Fellowship, Demian Battaglia will be hosted by Professor Jean-Christophe Cassel and Dr. Romain Goutagny in the Laboratory of Cognitive and Adaptative Neuroscience (LNCA). He will collaborate with Dr. Goutagny within the team for Neurobiology of Cognitive decline.

Project - Taming the complexity of oscillatory organisation in the hippocampus (and its larger scale networks)

01/12/2020 - 31/12/2022

Oscillations of neuronal activity play a crucial role in neural information processing, allowing the selective routing of information through brain regions and providing a reference frame to organise neural codes. Oscillations have been particularly well explored in the hippocampus, a brain structure involved in key cognitive functions, such as spatial navigation and memory. Over the years, a veritable “standard model” of hippocampal oscillations has emerged, in which a multitude of different “gamma” oscillatory rhythms have been labelled in a near-entomological fashion, according to their frequency, the phase at which they occur relative to slower ongoing “theta” oscillations and the anatomical localisation of their putative source. Furthermore, specific functions (encoding of cues, memory retrieval…) have been attributed to each of these different rhythms in a very Cartesian one-to-one correspondence.

Despite its popularity, this “standard model” may be flawed by implicit assumptions that do not respect the real nature of neuronal oscillatory dynamics. Indeed, a majority of studies have studied the properties of hippocampal oscillations by relying on averages taken over multiple trials and long times. However, instantaneous oscillatory events may strongly deviate from these well-behaved averages. In a preliminary analysis of mouse recordings performed by the team’s experimental partner (Dr. Romain Goutagny at the University of Strasbourg), the estimate is that fewer than 4 % of individual oscillatory episodes bear some similarity to the text-book average templates. On the contrary, the frequencies and phases of gamma oscillatory bursts instead constitute a structured continuum. Therefore, the standard model may well have been elaborated in terms of entities and average oscillatory behaviours, that simply do not exist in the “here and now” of actual cognitive processing, responding to current stimuli and context to produce real-time behaviour.

In this project, Dr. Battaglia proposes to forge a new language and analytic framework to characterise the complex oscillatory behaviour of the hippocampus, haphazardly standing between order and randomness. To do so, the team will adopt quantitative approaches (information and network theory, supervised and unsupervised machine learning) to extract both the “dictionary” and the “grammar” of the language of oscillatory dynamics, at the level of hippocampus (recorded via multichannel silicon probes), but also of its wider networks of interactions with other cortical regions (measured via implanted EEG arrays). They will decode this language to predict actual behaviour during navigation tasks, in which a mouse explores a maze to find the fixed location of a reward, in the same fashion we would have to do to find a shop in a neighbourhood we are gradually getting acquainted with. This oscillatory language will be modified not only by learning but also by pathology. The team will thus also consider recordings from mutant mouse models, developing traits of Alzheimer’s disease (in which spatial navigation and memory performance are affected), or Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (in which altered cortical excitability properties are expected to perturb oscillatory network dynamics). Computational modelling at multiple nested scales, using veritable “virtual mouse” whole-brain models, will allow reverse-engineering of the possible cellular and circuit-level causes of the observed alterations, serving as powerful inference, hypothesis generation and conceptualisation tools.

Links


Relevant publications:

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Demian Battaglia

Biographie - Demian Battaglia

CNRS et Institut de neurosciences des systèmes (INS) - UMR 1106, Aix-Marseille université, France & Fellow USIAS, Laboratoire de neurosciences cognitives et adaptatives (LNCA) - UMR 7364, université de Strasbourg et CNRS

Demian Battaglia, USIAS Fellow 2020

Demian Battaglia a obtenu son doctorat en 2005 à l’École internationale supérieure d'études avancées (SISSA, Trieste, Italie) pour ses travaux à l’interface entre la physique statistique et les sciences de l’information. Il a ensuite réorienté ses recherches vers les neurosciences théoriques, sous la direction des Drs. David Hansel et Nicolas Brunel à l’université Paris-Descartes (France). À partir de 2009, il a travaillé à Göttingen (Allemagne), occupant un poste de chercheur indépendant à l’Institut Max-Planck de dynamique et d'auto-organisation (MPIDS), au sein du département de dynamique non linéaire (dirigé par le professeur Theo Geisel), puis de responsable de projet au Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience (BCCN). Bénéficiaire d'une bourse Bernstein en 2013 et d’une bourse Marie Curie en 2014, il obtient un poste permanent au Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) en 2015. Depuis ce jour, il travaille à l’Institut de neurosciences des systèmes (dirigé par le Dr. Viktor Jirsa) au sein d’Aix-Marseille université.

Les recherches actuelles du Dr. Battaglia explorent les liens entre la structure, la dynamique et la fonction au sein des circuits neuronaux à différentes échelles, des cultures neuronales aux réseaux à l’échelle du cerveau, à l’aide d'une combinaison de modélisation informatique, de théorie de l’information et d’approches d’apprentissage automatique. Le Dr. Battaglia s'intéresse tout particulièrement au rôle que jouent les dynamiques oscillatoires et les dynamiques de réseaux dans le traitement de l’information neuronale.

Au cours de son séjour à Strasbourg, Demian Battaglia sera accueilli par le professeur Jean-Christophe Cassel et le Dr. Romain Goutagny au sein du Laboratoire de neurosciences cognitives et adaptatives (LNCA). Il collaborera avec le Dr. Goutagny dans l'équipe Neurobiologie du déclin cognitif.

Projet - Maîtriser la complexité de l’organisation oscillatoire au sein de l’hippocampe (et de ses réseaux à plus grande échelle)

01/12/2020 - 31/12/2022

Les oscillations dans l’activité neuronale jouent un rôle essentiel dans le traitement de l'information neurologique, en permettant le routage sélectif de l’information à travers les régions cérébrales et en fournissant un cadre de référence d’organisation des codes neuronaux. Les oscillations ont été particulièrement bien étudiées dans l’hippocampe, une structure cérébrale impliquée dans des fonctions cognitives clés comme la navigation spatiale et la mémoire. Au fil des années, un véritable « modèle standard » des oscillations dans l’hippocampe a émergé, dans lequel une multitude de rythmes oscillatoires « gamma » différents ont été étiquetés de manière quasi-entomologique en fonction de leur fréquence, de la phase de leur survenue par rapport aux oscillations continues « thêta », plus lentes, et de la localisation anatomique de leur source putative. En outre, des fonctions spécifiques (encodage des signaux, rappel des souvenirs...) ont été attribuées à chacun de ces différents rythmes avec une correspondance biunivoque très cartésienne.

Malgré sa popularité, ce « modèle standard » peut être biaisé par des hypothèses implicites qui ne respectent pas la nature véritable de la dynamique oscillatoire neuronale. En effet, la majorité des études ont examiné les propriétés des oscillations dans l’hippocampe en se fondant sur des moyennes générées via des essais multiples et sur de longues durées. Toutefois, les événements oscillatoires instantanés peuvent fortement dévier de ces moyennes un peu trop sages. Lors d’une analyse préliminaire d’enregistrements murins réalisés par le partenaire expérimental de notre équipe (le Dr. Romain Goutagny de l’université de Strasbourg), nous avons estimé que moins de 4 % des épisodes oscillatoires individuels ressemblent un tant soit peu aux modèles de moyennes théoriques. Au contraire, les fréquences et les phases des explosions d’oscillations gamma constituent un continuum structuré. Par conséquent, il est possible que le modèle standard ait été élaboré en termes d’entités et de comportements oscillatoires moyens qui n’existent tout simplement pas dans l’« ici et maintenant » du traitement cognitif réel, répondant à des stimuli et au contexte actuel afin de générer un comportement en temps réel.

Dans son projet, le Dr. Battaglia propose de forger un nouveau langage et un nouveau cadre analytique afin de caractériser le comportement oscillatoire complexe de l’hippocampe, aléatoirement situé entre ordre et chaos. À cet effet, l’équipe adoptera des approches quantitatives (théorie de l’information et des réseaux, apprentissage automatique supervisé et non supervisé) afin d’extraire à la fois le « dictionnaire » et la « grammaire » du langage de la dynamique oscillatoire, au niveau de l’hippocampe (enregistré via des sondes silicium multicanaux), mais également de celui de ses réseaux d’interactions plus larges avec d’autres régions corticales (mesurées via des séries d’EEG). L’équipe décodera ce langage afin de prédire le comportement effectif lors de tâches de navigation, au cours desquelles une souris explore un labyrinthe afin d’identifier le lieu fixe où se situe la récompense, de la même manière dont nous procéderions pour situer un magasin dans un quartier que nous apprenons peu à peu à connaître. Ce langage oscillatoire sera modifié non seulement par l’apprentissage, mais également par la pathologie. Par conséquent, l’équipe étudiera aussi des enregistrements de modèles murins mutants, développant des traits de la maladie d’Alzheimer (dans laquelle la navigation spatiale et la mémoire sont affectées) ou de la sclérose latérale amyotrophique (dans laquelle il est attendu que les propriétés d’excitabilité corticale altérées perturbent la dynamique oscillatoire des réseaux). La modélisation informatique à échelles multiples imbriquées, à l’aide de véritables modèles de cerveaux entiers de « souris virtuelles », nous permettra de créer par rétro-ingénierie les causes probables au niveau des cellules et des circuits des altérations observées, fournissant ainsi des outils puissants d’inférence, de génération d’hypothèses et de conceptualisation.

Liens


Publications principales :

Investissements d'Avenir