Université de Strasbourg

Atish Mukherji

Biography - Atish Mukherji

Institute of Viral and Liver Disease (IVH), University of Strasbourg and Inserm

Atish Mukherji , USIAS Fellow 2020Atish Mukherji obtained his bachelor’s degree in biochemistry and master’s degree in biotechnology from the prestigious All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi. Subsequently, he obtained his PhD from the International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi. In his doctoral work, he uncovered how the Hepatitis B Virus deregulates the cell cycle machinery to create a permissive environment for hepatocarcinogenesis.

Dr. Mukherji pursued his post-doctoral work in the laboratory of Professor Pierre Chambon at the Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), University of Strasbourg, where he investigated how nuclear receptors transcriptionally regulate mammalian physiology. He co-discovered the existence of a novel mechanism of control of gene expression by the glucocorticoid receptor (Surjit et al., 2011, Cell). Building on this investigation and using spatiotemporal mutagenesis, he further demonstrated that the function of the multiple retinoic acid receptors is not redundant in vivo (Ganti et al., 2017, PNAS). He also discovered that the homeostasis in the intestinal epithelium is maintained by the circadian clock and microbiota cues transduced by the toll like receptors (Mukherji et al., 2013, Cell). Subsequently, he also discovered the intimate molecular connections between the circadian clock and systemic metabolism. These works established how abnormal feeding time perturbs the functioning of circadian clock and leads to the development of metabolic syndrome (Mukherji et al., 2015, PNAS), a situation which is often encountered in modern society due to ‘shift-work’ and jetlag.

In his present research, Dr. Mukherji aims to not only elucidate how the circadian clock machinery controls the functioning of human liver (Mukherji et al., 2019, J. Hepatology), but also to understand the molecular basis of chronic liver disease of different etiologies (Lupberger et al., 2019, Gastroenterology, and Juehling et al., 2020, Gut), with an overall goal to discover novel therapeutics for hepatocellular carcinoma.

Project - Investigating the role of the circadian clock and the 3-dimensional chromatin architecture in the development of hepatitis C virus (HCV)-induced liver disease

01/10/2020 - 30/09/2022

Each day, every living organism is subjected to changes in the light intensity generated by the Earth’s rotation around its own axis. To anticipate this geophysical variability, and to appropriately respond biochemically, species of many phyla, including mammals have evolved an approximate 24-hour endogenous timing mechanism known as the circadian clock (CC). The ‘clock’ is self-sustained, cell autonomous and is present in every cell type. At the core of the clock functioning resides the CC-oscillator, an exquisitely crafted transcriptional-translational feedback system. Remarkably, components of the CC-oscillator not only maintain daily rhythmicity of their own synthesis, but also generate temporal variability in the expression levels of numerous target genes through transcriptional, post-transcriptional and post-translational mechanisms. Thus, this ‘clock’-system ensures proper chronological coordination in the functioning of cells, tissues and organs, including that of the liver. Using mouse-genetics and genomic approaches, it has been demonstrated that the expression of nearly 20 % of genes in the liver are clock-controlled. Indeed, a variety of physiologically critical hepatic functions including glucose and lipid metabolism and detoxification of drugs are under regulation of the clock. The CC-machinery also commands expression of key genes involved in regulating immune functioning, cytokine signaling, autophagy and mitochondrial function. It is thus not a surprise that our modern lifestyle (jet lag, shift-work, energy-dense foods, etc.), which often disturbs CC functioning has recently emerged as a major contributor of different metabolic diseases such as obesity, diabetes, fatty liver, metabolic syndrome and cancer. Therefore, detailed understanding of the molecular basis of CC-control on gene expression is necessary to not only reveal the circadian basis of physiology and pathologies but also to develop novel therapeutics for metabolic and non-metabolic diseases whose therapeutic efficacy may be administration time-of-day dependent (chronomedicine).

Eukaryotic chromosomes are known to adopt complex hierarchical structures in the nucleus. The spatial folding of chromosomes - i.e. their three-dimensional (3D) organisation - in the nucleus profoundly affects DNA replication, transcription and repair. Hence, an understanding of the 3D-genomic architecture is essential for our understanding of the transcriptional basis of gene expression. Importantly, it has been suggested that CC-machinery could also control the 3D-chromatin organisation. Nevertheless, how 3D-genome architecture evolves and affects gene expression during the progression of complex multistep chronic human disease is barely known. Also unknown is the molecular relationship between the CC and chronic liver disease in humans.

The objective of this project is to study in detail the relationship between the hepatocytic CC and hepatitis C virus (HCV), which is a major contributor to hepatocellular carcinoma development throughout the world. Using hepatitis C virus infection of humanised mice livers and employing cutting edge genomic technologies such as Hi-C and its derivative promoter-capture-Hi-C, research will not only uncover the extent of clock control on human hepatocytes, but also the 3D-genomic architecture of human hepatocytes in different circadian phases. Furthermore, this project will uncover the molecular mechanisms through which the chromatin architecture is perturbed during the pathogenesis of a highly relevant chronic liver disease.

Links

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Atish Mukherji

Biographie - Atish Mukherji

Institut de recherche sur les maladies virales et hépatiques (IVH) - UMR S1110, université de Strasbourg et Inserm

Atish Mukherji , USIAS Fellow 2020Atish Mukherji a obtenu sa licence de biochimie et son master de biotechnologie au sein du prestigieux All India Institute of Medical Sciences, puis son doctorat à l’International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB) de New Delhi (Inde). Au cours de son travail doctoral, il a découvert de quelle manière le virus de l’hépatite B dérègle la machinerie du cycle cellulaire afin de créer un environnement favorable à l’hépatocarcinogenèse.

Le Dr. Mukherji a ensuite poursuivi ses recherches postdoctorales au sein du laboratoire du professeur Pierre Chambon à l’Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC), université de Strasbourg, où il a étudié la manière dont les récepteurs nucléaires régulent la physiologie des mammifères par le biais de la transcription. Ainsi, il a co-découvert l’existence d’un nouveau moyen de contrôle de l’expression génétique par le récepteur des glucocorticoïdes (Surjit et al., 2011, Cell). Sur la base de ces recherches et à l’aide de la mutagenèse spatio-temporelle, il a également démontré que la fonction des récepteurs multiples de l’acide rétinoïque n’est pas redondante in vivo (Ganti et al., 2017, PNAS). Il a en outre découvert que l’homéostasie de l’épithélium intestinal est maintenue par l’horloge circadienne et que les signaux du microbiote sont transduits par les récepteurs TLR (Mukherji et al., 2013, Cell). Par la suite, il a mis au jour les connexions moléculaires intimes entre l’horloge circadienne et le métabolisme systémique. Ses travaux ont permis d’établir de quelle manière les horaires de repas décalés perturbent le fonctionnement de l'horloge circadienne et mènent au développement du syndrome métabolique (Mukherji et al., 2015, PNAS), une situation souvent rencontrée dans la société contemporaine en raison du travail posté et du décalage horaire.

Dans ses recherches actuelles, le Dr. Mukherji travaille non seulement à élucider la façon dont la machinerie de l’horloge circadienne contrôle le fonctionnement du foie humain (Mukherji et al., 2019, Journal of Hepatology), mais également à comprendre les fondements moléculaires des maladies hépatiques chroniques de différentes étiologies (Lupberger et al., 2019, Gastroenterology, and Juehling et al., 2020, Gut), dans l’objectif global de découvrir de nouveaux traitements du carcinome hépatocellulaire.

Projet - Étude du rôle de l’horloge circadienne et de l’architecture 3D de la chromatine dans le développement de la maladie hépatique induite par le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC)

01/10/2020 - 30/09/2022

Chaque jour, chaque organisme vivant est soumis à des changements d’intensité lumineuse générés par la rotation de la Terre sur son axe. Afin d’anticiper cette variabilité géophysique et d’y répondre de manière biochimiquement appropriée, les espèces de divers embranchements, dont les mammifères, ont développé un mécanisme de chronométrage endogène d’environ 24 heures connu sous le nom d’horloge circadienne. Cette « horloge » est autonome et présente dans tous les types de cellules. Au cœur de son fonctionnement se trouve l’oscillateur circadien, un système de rétroaction transcription-traduction au fonctionnement impressionnant : en effet, les composants de cet oscillateur ne se contentent pas de conserver le rythme quotidien de leur propre synthèse, mais génèrent également une variabilité temporelle dans les niveaux d’expression de nombreux gènes-cibles par le biais de mécanismes transcriptionnels, post-transcriptionnels et post-traductionnels. Par conséquent, ce système d’horloge assure la bonne coordination temporelle dans le fonctionnement des cellules, tissus et organes, y compris ceux du foie. À l’aide de génétique murine et d’approches génomiques, il a été démontré que l’expression de presque 20 % des gènes du foie était commandée par l’horloge circadienne. En effet, cette dernière régule diverses fonctions hépatiques physiologiquement critiques, dont le métabolisme du glucose et des lipides ainsi que la détoxification des drogues et médicaments. La machinerie de l’horloge circadienne commande également l’expression de gènes clés impliqués dans la régulation du fonctionnement immunitaire, de la signalisation des cytokines, de l’autophagie et de la fonction mitochondriale. Par conséquent, il n’est pas surprenant que notre mode de vie moderne (décalage horaire, aliments à forte densité calorique, etc.), qui dérègle fréquemment le fonctionnement de notre horloge biologique, ait récemment été identifié comme l’un des contributeurs majeurs de diverses maladies métaboliques comme l’obésité, le diabète, la stéatose hépatique, le syndrome métabolique et le cancer. Ainsi, une compréhension détaillée des fondements moléculaires du contrôle de l'horloge circadienne sur l’expression génétique est essentielle, non seulement afin de mettre en lumière la base circadienne de la physiologie et des pathologies, mais également afin de développer de nouveaux traitements des maladies métaboliques et non métaboliques, dont l’efficacité thérapeutique peut dépendre du moment où ils sont administrés (chronomédecine).

Les chromosomes eucaryotes sont connus pour adopter des structures hiérarchiques complexes dans le noyau. La disposition spatiale des chromosomes - c’est-à-dire leur organisation 3D - dans le noyau affecte profondément la réplication, la transcription et la réparation de l’ADN. Par conséquent, la compréhension de l’architecture 3D du génome est essentielle à notre compréhension des fondements transcriptionnels de l’expression génétique. Il a en outre été suggéré que la machinerie de l’horloge circadienne pourrait également contrôler l’organisation 3D de la chromatine. Quoi qu’il en soit, nous en savons très peu sur la manière dont l’architecture 3D du génome évolue et affecte l’expression génétique au cours des étapes multiples et complexes de la progression des maladies chroniques. Nous connaissons également mal la relation moléculaire entre l’horloge circadienne et les maladies hépatiques chroniques chez l’humain.

Ce projet a pour objectif d’étudier en détail la relation entre l’horloge circadienne des hépatocytes et le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC), qui est un contributeur majeur au développement du carcinome hépatocellulaire dans le monde entier. En utilisant l’infection par le virus de l’hépatite C de foies murins humanisés ainsi que des technologies génomiques de pointe comme Hi-C et son dérivé CHi-C, nos recherches permettront non seulement de découvrir l’ampleur du contrôle de l’horloge circadienne sur les hépatocytes humains, mais également l’architecture génomique 3D d’hépatocytes humains au cours des différentes phases circadiennes. En outre, ce projet mettra en lumière les mécanismes moléculaires par lesquels l’architecture de la chromatine est perturbée au cours de la pathogenèse d’une maladie hépatique chronique particulièrement répandue.

Liens

Investissements d'Avenir