Université de Strasbourg

Alexandre Smirnov

Biography - Alexandre Smirnov

Molecular Genetics, Genomics and Microbiology (GMGM), University of Strasbourg  CNRS

Alexandre Smirnov, USIAS Fellow 2020Alexandre Smirnov studied molecular biology at Moscow State University in Russia. Upon graduation with a gold medal in 2006, he worked on ribonucleic acid (RNA) localisation to human mitochondria and completed his doctoral thesis jointly at the Moscow State University and in the research unit for Molecular Genetics, Genomics and Microbiology (GMGM) at the University of Strasbourg. In 2010, he joined the group of Professor Jörg Vogel in the Institute for Molecular Infection Biology (IMIB), at the University of Würzburg, Germany. During his time there, through his work on the model enterobacterial pathogen Salmonella Typhimurium, he developed a powerful gradient profiling by sequencing (Grad-seq) approach that enables the biochemical identification of new RNA classes and global RNA-binding proteins in any organism (Smirnov et al., 2016, PNAS). One important discovery brought about by this technique is the pervasive role of the global RNA chaperone ProQ in bacterial posttranscriptional gene expression control, which significantly expanded the current knowledge of microbial RNA biology and, more particularly, of small RNA-mediated regulation.

This finding stimulated Dr. Smirnov’s increasing interest in the biological properties of such pleiotropic proteins across all domains of life, and especially in evolutionarily distant contexts. In 2014, he returned to GMGM in Strasbourg to join one of the university’s Laboratories of Excellence (LabEx) on Mitochondria-nucleus Cross-talk (MitoCross) where he works with Dr. Ivan Tarassov and Dr. Nina Entelis to develop new high-throughput approaches to study mitochondrial RNA-binding proteins and RNAs. Since 2017, he is a researcher in the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) and currently studies the biology and evolution of global RNA-binding proteins, noncoding RNAs and ribosome biogenesis factors (Summer et al., 2020, Nucleic Acids Research) in as diverse genetic systems as Escherichia coli and human mitochondria.

Project - Experimental evolution of an organism with devastating impairment of regulatory networks

01/12/2020 - 30/11/2022

Living organisms regulate the expression of their genes to adapt to changing environmental conditions. They do so by using a variety of mechanisms intervening at each stage, from DNA transcription to RNA and protein turnover. Regulation at the level of RNA, also known as posttranscriptional control, is particularly important as it enables fast, nuanced and complex cellular responses. It relies on noncoding RNAs and RNA-binding proteins that can both up- and downregulate the expression of target genes. Some of these proteins are very specific and interact with only few transcripts. Others are much more pleiotropic; they recognise and regulate dozens and even hundreds of cellular RNAs. Such global RNA-binding factors, henceforth called RNA-binding hubs, play essential roles in organising and empowering posttranscriptional networks in apparently all species. It is sufficient to bring to mind well-characterised examples, such as eukaryotic Argonaute proteins or the bacterial RNA chaperone Hfq to appreciate the genuine scope of hub-mediated regulation.

The functional significance of several RNA-binding hubs has been extensively studied with biochemical and genetic approaches, which revealed how they work, what they regulate, and why it is important for the cell. However, we still lack understanding of why diverse organisms throughout evolution employ such proteins to coordinate their gene expression. Are RNA-binding hubs so essential in the long run? Can a bacterium learn to thrive without them? Would their loss provoke the emergence of new regulatory or biogenesis modes?

This project aims to experimentally test the evolutionary importance of three major bacterial RNA-binding hubs, the global RNA chaperones Hfq and ProQ and the ultraconserved ribosome assembly factor YbeY, which, via different mechanisms, control a large part of the E. coli genome. To this end, the team will employ the ‘modify-and-evolve’ approach and analyse the long-term consequences of losing one of these key proteins on the well-being of bacteria. In an adaptive evolution experiment over 2,000 generations, the team will follow how an organism with essentially destroyed posttranscriptional networks finds evolutionary trajectories to restore its fitness without recurring to the missing regulator. Additionally, transposon mutagenesis will be used to better understand both the place of these RNA-binding hubs in the genetic system of E. coli and available backup and escape solutions.

The data collected in the frame of this project are unique and promise to revolutionise our view of global RNA-binding regulators as evolutionarily important units. They are expected to provide invaluable information about the evolutionary plasticity of posttranscriptional networks and ribosome biogenesis pathways, which comes from direct experimentation rather than from a comparative phylogenetic analysis. Such data are essential for the understanding of key speciation events, which often involve dramatic rewiring of regulatory networks with little change in the gene content of an organism. Given the extensive role of posttranscriptional control in performance of engineered biological circuits and manifestation of virulence traits in facultative pathogenic bacteria, this study will also benefit the fields of synthetic biology, biotechnology and medical microbiology.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Alexandre Smirnov

Biographie - Alexandre Smirnov

Génétique moléculaire, génomique et microbiologie (GMGM) – UMR 7156, université de Strasbourg et CNRS

Alexandre Smirnov, USIAS Fellow 2020Alexandre Smirnov a étudié la biologie moléculaire à l’université de Moscou. Après avoir terminé ses études et obtenu la médaille d’or en 2006, il a travaillé sur la localisation des ARN dans les mitochondries humaines et a effectué son doctorat en cotutelle entre l’université de Moscou et l’UMR 7156 – GMGM (université de Strasbourg). En 2010, il a rejoint l’équipe du professeur Jörg Vogel à l’Institut de biologie moléculaire des infections (IMIB, université de Würzburg). C’est dans ce laboratoire, par le biais de ses travaux sur le modèle d’entérobactérie pathogène Salmonella Typhimurium qu’il a développé Grad-seq, une approche performante qui permet d’identifier de nouvelles classes d’ARN et de protéines de liaison à l’ARN globales chez l’organisme d’intérêt (Smirnov et al. 2016, PNAS). Cette technique lui a permis de mettre en évidence le rôle central du chaperon d’ARN ProQ dans le contrôle post-transcriptionnel chez les bactéries. La découverte de ProQ a significativement élargi les connaissances actuelles sur la biologie de l’ARN, et plus particulièrement sur la régulation par les ARN non codants chez les microbes.

Inspiré par cette avancée, le Dr. Smirnov s’est davantage intéressé aux propriétés biologiques de ce type de régulateurs dans d’autres contextes phylogénétiques, y compris très éloignés. En 2014, il est revenu à Strasbourg afin de rejoindre le consortium LabEx MitoCross en tant que membre de l’UMR 7156 – GMGM, où il collabore avec le Dr. Ivan Tarassov et le Dr. Nina Entelis sur le développement de nouvelles approches à haut débit pour l’étude des ARN et des protéines de liaison à l’ARN mitochondriaux. Depuis 2017, il est chercheur au CNRS. Ses recherches se focalisent sur la biologie et l’évolution des protéines de liaison à l’ARN globales, des ARN non codants et des facteurs de biogenèse de ribosomes (Summer et al., 2020, Nucleic Acids Research) dans des modèles aussi variés qu’E. coli et les mitochondries humaines.

Projet - Évolution expérimentale d’un organisme atteint de déficience majeure des réseaux de régulation

01/12/2020 - 30/11/2022

Tous les organismes régulent l’expression de leurs gènes pour s’adapter aux conditions environnementales. À cette fin, ils emploient divers mécanismes qui interviennent à toutes les étapes, de la transcription de l’ADN jusqu’au recyclage ultime des ARN et des protéines. La régulation au niveau de l’ARN, communément appelée régulation post-transcriptionnelle, est particulièrement importante, car elle permet des réponses à la fois rapides, nuancées et complexes. Elle repose sur les ARN non-codants et les protéines de liaison à l’ARN qui peuvent soit augmenter soit diminuer l’expression des gènes cibles. Certaines de ces protéines sont très spécifiques et n’interagissent qu’avec peu de transcrits. D’autres sont beaucoup plus polyvalentes : elles reconnaissent et contrôlent des dizaines voire des centaines d’ARN cellulaires. Ces protéines de liaison à l’ARN globales, également appelées protéines-hubs, jouent un rôle essentiel dans l’organisation et la dynamique des réseaux post-transcriptionnels chez toutes les espèces. Il suffit de rappeler des exemples bien caractérisés, comme les protéines argonautes chez les eucaryotes ou le chaperon d’ARN Hfq chez les bactéries, pour apprécier la véritable portée de la régulation assurée par les protéines-hubs.

Grâce aux approches biochimiques et génétiques, nous comprenons déjà assez bien le fonctionnement de plusieurs protéines-hubs, leurs cibles et leur importance pour la cellule. Cependant, nous ne parvenons toujours pas à expliquer pourquoi divers organismes ont retenu ces facteurs au cours de l’évolution pour contrôler l’expression de leurs gènes. Les protéines-hubs sont-elles vraiment nécessaires à long terme ? Une bactérie peut-elle apprendre à vivre sans elles ? La perte d’une protéine-hub peut-elle entraîner l’émergence de nouveaux modes de régulation ou de biogenèse ?

Ce projet propose de tester expérimentalement l’importance évolutionnaire de trois protéines-hubs bactériennes : les chaperons d’ARN Hfq et ProQ et le facteur d’assemblage des ribosomes ultraconservé YbeY, qui contrôlent une grande partie du génome d’E. coli par le biais de mécanismes variés. En utilisant l’approche « modifie-et-évolue », l’équipe analysera les conséquences à long terme de la perte de chacune de ces protéines clés sur le bien-être des bactéries. À travers 2 000 générations, l’équipe suivra « en direct » la manière dont un organisme dont les réseaux post-transcriptionnels sont essentiellement détruits trouve une trajectoire évolutionnaire afin de restaurer sa santé sans recourir au régulateur disparu. En outre, la mutagenèse à transposons sera employée afin de mieux comprendre la place de ces protéines-hubs dans le système génétique d’E. coli et des solutions de repli existantes.

Les données collectées au cours de ce projet ont le potentiel de révolutionner notre perception des protéines-hubs en tant qu’entités évolutionnaires d’importance. Elles fourniront des informations précieuses sur la plasticité des réseaux post-transcriptionnels et de la biogenèse des ribosomes. Ces données sont également nécessaires pour comprendre l’apparition de nouvelles espèces, qui est souvent accompagnée d’une refonte des réseaux régulateurs avec peu de changements au niveau des gènes eux-mêmes. Au vu de l’importance de la régulation post-transcriptionnelle pour la performance des circuits biologiques artificiels et la manifestation de la virulence chez les pathogènes facultatifs, cette étude peut trouver des applications dans les domaines de la biologie synthétique, de la biotechnologie et de la microbiologie médicale.

Investissements d'Avenir