Université de Strasbourg

Joseph Schacherer

Biography

Laboratory for Molecular Genetics, Genomics and Microbiology (GMGM), CNRS, University of Strasbourg

Joseph Schacherer, USIAS Fellow 2017

In 2005, Joseph Schacherer obtained a PhD in molecular and cellular biology from the Louis-Pasteur University in Strasbourg, France. Following the completion of his PhD, he joined the laboratory of Leonid Kruglyak at the Lewis Sigler institute of Integrative genomics at Princeton University (New Jersey, USA), where he began work on genomic approaches to study population genomics and intraspecies phenotypic variation. In 2007, he was appointed as assistant professor of genetics and genomics at the laboratory of Genetics, Genomics and Microbiology (UMR7156, University of Strasbourg - CNRS). In 2013, he became team-leader and brought together an experienced team of researchers with expertise in population genomics, genetics, bioinformatics and data analysis crucial to set up high-throughput sequencing and phenotyping experiments and analyse the data generated. The group’s long-term goal is to use population and functional genomics to have a better insight into the rules that govern the genotype-phenotype relationship within species.

Moreover, he was laureate of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) R01 grant program in collaboration with the Dunham group (Department of Genome Sciences, University of Seattle) twice, in 2012 and more recently in 2017. He also led the  1002 yeast genomes project. He was nominated member of the Institut Universitaire de France in 2016. And since September 2017, he is professor of genetics and genomics at the University of Strasbourg.

Project - Elucidating how traits are heritable through functional and population genomics across a whole subphylum

September 2017 - August 2019

Elucidating the causes of the awesome phenotypic diversity observed in natural populations is a major challenge in biology. It is now clear that the understanding of traits is not only hampered by non-heritable factors such as the environment and epigenetic variation, but also confounded by the lack of complete knowledge concerning the genetic components of complex traits. More than a century after the rediscovery of Mendel’s law, the genetic architecture of traits still resists generalization. In fact, dissection of the genotype-phenotype correlation in humans and other higher model eukaryotes such as Arabidopsis thaliana and Caenorhabditis elegans, while extremely important, is very difficult not only due to genetic complexity, pleiotropy and gene-environment interactions but also to large and complex genomes. This is increasingly evident as shown by recent genome-wide association studies, where identified causal loci explained relatively little of the heritability of most complex traits. Multiple justifications for this “missing heritability” have been suggested, including a large number of variants with small effects, rare variants, poorly detected structural variants and low power to estimate gene-gene interactions.

From this perspective, the budding yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae is an attractive model system for understanding phenotypic diversity. In particular, its genome is physically small (12 Mb), genetically large (4,500 cM) and highly annotated. Natural populations harbour a decidedly broad phenotypic diversity, and a greater genetic variability than that found in humans. It is possible to precisely measure a large panel of phenotypes from the same population with ease, and the genetic basis of these phenotypes can be determined using different mapping strategies.

In this context, we will combine functional and population genomics approaches to (i) explore the genetic diversity among yeast isolates from various ecological niches of different non-conventional species, (ii) determine the recombination landscape within these species, and (iii) analyse the phenotype-genotype relationships. This comprehensive study will undoubtedly enlighten on the genetic origin of phenotypic diversity, the variation of the mutational and recombinational processes as well as their evolution. This project will undoubtedly represent a milestone in better understanding the general characteristics and evolution of the genetic architecture of complex traits.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Joseph Schacherer

Biographie

Laboratoire de Génétique moléculaire, génomique, microbiologie (GMGM), CNRS, université de Strasbourg

Joseph Schacherer, USIAS Fellow 2017

Joseph Schacherer obtient en 2005 son doctorat en biologie moléculaire et cellulaire à l’université Louis-Pasteur de Strasbourg (France). Il rejoint ensuite l’équipe de Leonid Kruglyak au Lewis Sigler Institute de l’université de Princeton (New Jersey, États-Unis), où il commence à s’intéresser aux études de génomique des populations ainsi qu’à la diversité phénotypique intraspécifique. En 2007, il est nommé maître de conférences et exerce ses activités de recherche dans le laboratoire de génétique moléculaire, génomique et microbiologie (UMR7156, université de Strasbourg - CNRS). En 2013, il anime sa propre équipe en réunissant des chercheurs ayant une expertise en génomique des populations, génétique, bioinformatique et analyse des données, l’ensemble étant essentiel pour la génération et l’analyse de données de séquençage et de phénotypage à haut débit. L’objectif à long terme du groupe est d’utiliser la génomique fonctionnelle et des populations afin de parvenir à une meilleure compréhension des règles qui régissent la relation génotype-phénotype au sein d’une espèce.

Joseph Schacherer a en outre été lauréat du programme R01 des National Institutes of Health (NIH) à deux reprises, en 2012 et 2017. Il a également piloté le projet 1 002 génomes de levures. Il a été nommé membre de l’Institut universitaire de France en 2016. Depuis septembre 2017, il est professeur de génétique et de génomique à l’université de Strasbourg.

Projet - Dissection de l’hérédité des traits par génomique fonctionnelle et des populations à travers les espèces

Septembre 2017 - août 2019

Déterminer les causes de la diversité phénotypique observée au sein des populations naturelles est l’un des défis majeurs de la biologie. Il est évident que la compréhension des phénotypes n’est pas uniquement limitée par les facteurs non héritables comme l’environnement et les variations épigénétiques, mais également confondue par le manque de connaissances sur l’origine génétique des traits complexes. Plus d’un siècle après la découverte des lois de Mendel, l’architecture génétique des traits reste peu précise. En effet, la dissection de la corrélation entre génotype et phénotype chez l’humain ou d’autres modèles eucaryotes comme Arabidopsis thaliana et Caenorhabditis elegans, bien que très importante, est rendue difficile non seulement par la complexité génétique et les interactions gènes-environnement, mais également par les grands génomes. Cet aspect est de plus en plus évident, comme le soulignent les études d’associations pangénomiques, où les variants génétiques identifiés n’expliquent qu’une faible fraction de l’héritabilité. Plusieurs causes peuvent expliquer cette héritabilité manquante, comme la présence de variants génétiques à faible impact, de variants rares ou la non-détection de variants structuraux.

Dans ce contexte, la levure Saccharomyces cerevisiae constitue un modèle intéressant permettant de mieux comprendre la diversité phénotypique. En effet, son génome est physiquement petit (12 Mb), génétiquement grand (4,500 cM) et très bien annoté. Les populations naturelles présentent une diversité phénotypique et génétique très importante, et il est possible de mesurer et de déterminer une myriade de phénotypes pour une même population ainsi que d’en déterminer les origines génétiques par diverses stratégies de cartographie.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous combinerons des approches de génomique fonctionnelle et des populations pour (i) explorer la diversité génétique entre individus de différentes espèces de levures provenant de différentes origines écologiques et géographiques, (ii) déterminer le paysage de recombinaison de ces différentes espèces, et (iii) analyser la relation génotype-phénotype. Ce projet permettra une mise en lumière des origines génétiques de la diversité phénotypique, des processus de mutation et de recombinaison ainsi que de leur évolution, et nous apportera au final une meilleure connaissance de l’architecture génétique des traits.

Investissements d'Avenir