Université de Strasbourg

Hajime Fukui

Biography

National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center (NCVC), Osaka, Japan & USIAS Fellow at the Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), University of Strasbourg

Hajime Fukui, USIAS Fellow 2017

Since 2012, Hajime Fukui is a staff scientist in the Department of Cell Biology at the National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center (NCVC) Research Institute, Osaka, Japan. He obtained his PhD from Kyoto University (Laboratory of Bioimaging and Cell Signaling) in 2009. During his thesis, he detected a non-canonical function of seryl-tRNA synthetase (SerRS) that regulates vegfa transcription in vascular development. From 2009 to 2012, he was a tenured assistant professor at the Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine (Department of Developmental Biology and Anatomy). He is interested in primary cilia signaling and focused on the ciliary proteins in the organ development. After moving to his current position, Hajime Fukui has identified the mechanisms by which the hippo signaling pathway regulates early cardiac development; S1P-Yap signaling requires cardiac precursor cell migration towards midline, and Lats1/2-Yap/Taz-dependent bmp2b transcription activation restricts cells in the second heart field.

During his research career, he has revealed part of the mechanisms of cardiac morphogenesis, utilizing zebrafish imaging and genetic approaches. His main objectives are to reveal the mechanism of cardiovascular development which is coordinately regulated by the genetically encoded signaling and force-driven signaling. He has received research grants from the Takeda Science foundation, SENSHIN-Medical Research Foundation, Uehara Memorial Foundation, Cell Science Research Foundation, and Grants-in-Aid for Scientific Research (from JSPS and MEXT) in Japan.

 

Project - Molecular mechanism of endocardial mechanotransduction during valvulogenesis

November 2017 - October 2019

Cardiovascular Diseases (CVDs) are the leading cause of death in the world. Heart malformations account for as many as 30% of embryos or fetuses lost before birth. On top of these statistics, another 2% of new-borns have bicuspid aortic valves (BAVs) or other valve defects, which may cause significant morbidity and mortality later in life. Congenital heart valve malformations, therefore, constitute an important medical issue challenging our society.

The zebrafish is one of the most widely used animal models for developmental and regeneration studies. Among its advantages is its relatively small size (2-4 cm), which enables several hundreds or thousands of animals to be housed in a small to medium-sized, cost-effective facility. Adults give rise to large numbers of embryos, which can be maintained completely translucent for up to 5 days post-fertilization, by which time organogenesis is complete.

Formation of the cardiac valve is orchestrated by genetically-encoded several signaling and mechanical stimulation generated by intracardial flow via expression of krüppel-like factor 2 (klf2). In zebrafish, Notch and Wnt activation in endocardial cells are influenced by a cardiac contraction and/or blood flow, highlighting an essential link between mechanical stimuli and developmental gene networks. However, the identity of the mechanosensory pathway directly activated by intracardial flow during valve formation remains unclear.

We aim to identify the mechanosensory pathway and to reveal the molecular mechanisms of mechanotransduction involved in the process of valvulogenesis. To accomplish this goal, we will determine the identity of the mechanosensors that are responsible for valvulogenesis and characterize the role of the uncovered mechanosensory pathway.

Links

  • Web page of the Department of Cell Biology at the National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center (NCVC) Research Institute, Osaka, Japan
Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Hajime Fukui

Biographie

National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center (NCVC), Osaka, Japon & Fellow USIAS à l'Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC), université de Strasbourg

Hajime Fukui, USIAS Fellow 2017

Depuis 2012, Hajime Fukui est chercheur au département de biologie cellulaire de l’institut de recherche du National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center (NCVC) d’Osaka (Japon). Il a obtenu en 2009 un doctorat de l’université de Kyoto, au Laboratory of Bioimaging and Cell Signaling. Au cours de sa thèse, il a détecté une fonction non canonique des séryl-ARNt synthétases (SerRS), régulant la transcription vegfa lors du développement vasculaire. De 2009 à 2012, il a occupé le poste de professeur adjoint permanent à la Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine, au département de biologie et d’anatomie du développement. Il s’intéresse à la signalisation des cils primaires, et plus particulièrement aux protéines ciliaires dans le développement des organes. Dans son poste actuel, Hajime Fukui a identifié les mécanismes par lesquels la voie Hippo régule le développement cardiaque précoce : la signalisation S1P-Yap exige une migration des précurseurs des cellules cardiaques vers la ligne médiane, et l’activation de la transcription bmp2b dépendant de Lats1/2-Yap/Taz limite les cellules dans le champ cardiaque secondaire.

Au cours de sa carrière, il a mis en évidence une partie des mécanismes de la morphogénèse cardiaque, à l’aide d’approches génétiques et d’imagerie appliquées aux poissons zèbres. Il a pour objectif principal de révéler le mécanisme du développement cardiovasculaire, coordonné et régulé par la signalisation codée génétiquement et la signalisation mécanique. Il a reçu diverses bourses de recherche de la Takeda Science Foundation, de la SENSHIN-Medical Research Foundation, de l’Uehara Memorial Foundation et de la Cell Science Research Foundation, ainsi que des Grants-in-Aid for Scientific Research de JSPS et de MEXT (Japon).

Projet - Mécanisme moléculaire de la mécanotransduction endocardique au cours de la valvulogénèse cardiaque

Novembre 2017 - octobre 2019

Les maladies cardiovasculaires (MCV) sont la première cause de mortalité dans le monde, et les malformations cardiaques expliquent jusqu’à 30 % des décès d’embryons ou de fœtus. En outre, 2 % des nouveau-nés souffrent de bicuspidie valvulaire aortique (BVA) ou d’autres malformations valvulaires, pouvant être à l’origine d’une morbidité et d’une mortalité importantes au cours de la vie.  Les malformations des valves cardiaques sont par conséquent un problème médical crucial pour notre société.

Le poisson zèbre est l’un des modèles animaux les plus utilisés dans les études sur le développement et la régénération. Il présente de nombreux avantages, dont une taille relativement réduite (2 à 4 cm), qui permet d’héberger plusieurs centaines ou milliers d’individus dans des locaux de taille modeste, et à faible coût. Les adultes produisent de grandes quantités d’embryons, qui peuvent être maintenus dans un état de transparence totale jusqu’à 5 jours après la fertilisation, soit à l’achèvement de l’organogenèse.

La formation des valves cardiaques est orchestrée par diverses signalisations déterminées génétiquement, et par la stimulation mécanique générée par le flux intracardiaque via l’expression du facteur Krüppel-like 2 (KLF2). Chez le poisson zèbre, l’activation des voies Notch et Wnt dans les cellules endocardiques est influencée par la contraction cardiaque et/ou la circulation sanguine, mettant en évidence le lien essentiel entre les stimuli mécaniques et les réseaux de gènes du développement. Toutefois, la voie mécanosensible directement activée par le flux intracardiaque au cours de la formation des valves n’est pas encore connue.

Notre objectif est par conséquent de l’identifier, et de révéler les mécanismes moléculaires de la mécanotransduction impliqués dans le processus de valvulogénèse. À cet effet, nous déterminerons l’identité des mécanosenseurs responsables de la valvulogénèse ainsi que le rôle de la voie mécanosensorielle découverte.

Liens

  • Page web du département de biologie cellulaire de l’institut de recherche du National Cerebral and Cardiovascular Center (NCVC) d’Osaka (Japon)
Investissements d'Avenir