Université de Strasbourg

Alan Kirman

Biography

Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of Aix-Marseille, the École des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (EHESS), member of the Institut Universitaire de France (IUF) & USIAS Fellow at the Bureau of Theoretical and Applied Economics (BETA), University of Strasbourg

Alan Kirman, USIAS Fellow 2017

Alan Kirman obtained his Ph.D. from Princeton and he has been professor of economics at Johns Hopkins University, the Université Libre de Bruxelles, Warwick University, and the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. He was elected a fellow of the Econometric Society and of the European Economic Association and was awarded the Humboldt Prize in Germany. He is member of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. He was elected as a foreign member of the Accademia dei Lincei in Rome, the oldest academy in the world, this year. 

He has published 150 articles in international scientific journals and on the editorial board of several international journals. He also is the author and editor of fifteen books, most recently Complex Economics: Individual and Collective Rationality, which was published by Routledge in July 2010 and Complexity and Evolution: Toward a New Synthesis for Economics edited with David S. Wilson published by MIT Press in 2016. 

His original interests focused mainly on theoretical economics and in particular general equilibrium theory and game theory. However, as the problems with the foundations of modern theoretical economics have become clearer his interests have turned to looking at the empirical evidence as to how the economy in general and some markets in particular function. He has become increasingly involved in modelling the economy and markets as complex adaptive systems in which aggregate behaviour emerges from the interaction between rather simple economic agents with limited knowledge. Economic actors are perhaps closer to ants than to homo oeconomicus.

Project - The Complex Origins of our Economic and Social Problems

May 2017 - April 2019

This project will develop an approach to economic and social systems based on complexity analysis. A major part of it will deal with an approach to economics which does not assume that the economy will self organise into a satisfactory state. Economies and social systems in general are not always in equilibrium in any standard sense but are systems, which evolve and adapt over time and periodically passes from crisis to periods of stasis without any external shocks. Aggregate behaviour emerges and develops from the interaction between participants in these systems. This view of such systems integrates considerations from physics, biology, sociology and psychology.

What sort of alternative to standard economic models can be built if we follow this approach? We should see the development of the idea of a society or an economy as a complex system. Simple individuals acting in what they see to be their own interest and influencing and being influenced by others can generate very complicated and unpredictable aggregate phenomena. Collectively the individuals may be able to get more done than they can achieve alone. We can take lessons from social insects, and “Swarm intelligence”. Nobody would try to understand the organisation of an ant-hill by looking at the "representative ant".

The important lesson is that aggregate behaviour is emergent and such emergence may yield results which are far from what we might have expected when looking at the individuals and their behaviour. As soon as we start to consider situations in which individuals interact directly with each other and the results of their interaction feed back into the system, the evolution of that system may display quite unstable behaviour. We will consider two examples of such systems.

The USIAS project will focus on two important examples of questions that standard economics is currently trying to address unsuccessfully. The two problems are amongst the most important of our times: the problem of achieving racial equality and that of understanding how man adapts to or fails to adapt to climatic change. We will show that the complexity theory approach can help to reunite disciplinary fields which have important insights to offer but have become antagonistic or out of reach.

This research will result in a book for which a contract has been signed with Princeton University Press. My stay at USIAS will be devoted to this book, to meeting and discussing with scholars from other disciplines and to working in particular on the two specific but very different examples of complex social systems.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Alan Kirman

Biographie

Professeur émérite d'économie à l'université d'Aix-Marseille III et à l'École des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS), membre de l'Institut universitaire de France (IUF) & Fellow USIAS au Bureau d'économie théorique et appliquée (BETA), université de Strasbourg

Alan Kirman, USIAS Fellow 2017

Alan Kirman a obtenu son doctorat à l'université de Princeton et a été professeur d'économie à l'université Johns Hopkins, l'université libre de Bruxelles, l'université de Warwick et l'Institut universitaire européen de Florence (Italie). Il a été élu membre de la Société d'économétrie et de l'Association économique européenne et a reçu le Prix Humboldt en Allemagne. Il est membre de l'Institute for Advanced Study de Princeton. Il a été récemment élu membre étranger de l'Accademia dei Lincei de Rome, la plus ancienne académie au monde.

Il a publié 150 articles dans des revues scientifiques internationales et siège au comité de rédaction de plusieurs de ces dernières. Il est également l'auteur et le rédacteur de quinze livres, dont Complex Economics: Individual and Collective Rationality, publié par Routledge en juillet 2010 et Complexity and Evolution:  Toward a New Synthesis for Economics, en collaboration avec David S. Wilson, publié par MIT Press en 2016.

À l'origine, ses centres d'intérêt concernaient principalement l'économie théorique, en particulier la théorie de l'équilibre général et la théorie des jeux. Par la suite, alors que les problèmes des fondements de la théorie économique moderne sont apparus plus clairement, il a choisi de se concentrer sur les preuves empiriques de la manière dont fonctionnent l'économie en général, et certains marchés en particulier. Il s'est impliqué de manière croissante dans la modélisation de l'économie et des marchés en tant que systèmes adaptatifs complexes, au sein desquels des comportements globaux émergent des interactions entre simples agents économiques aux connaissances limitées. En effet, les acteurs économiques sont peut-être plus proches des fourmis que de l'homo œconomicus.

Projet - Les origines complexes de nos problèmes économiques et sociaux

Mai 2017 - avril 2019

Ce projet développera une approche des systèmes économiques et sociaux fondée sur l'analyse de la complexité. Il se concentrera en grande partie sur une conception de l'économie ne présumant pas que cette dernière s'auto-organise en un état satisfaisant. De manière générale, les économies et les systèmes sociaux ne sont pas toujours à l'équilibre au sens classique du terme. Il s'agit plutôt de systèmes qui évoluent et s'adaptent au fil du temps, alternant les périodes de crise et les périodes de stabilité sans intervention externe. Des comportements globaux émergent et se développent à partir des interactions entre participants au sein de ces systèmes. Cette manière de concevoir ces derniers intègre des notions de physique, de biologie, de sociologie et de psychologie.

Quelle alternative aux modèles économiques classiques pouvons-nous élaborer en suivant cette approche ? Nous devrions assister au développement d'une vision de la société ou de l'économie en tant que système complexe. De simples individus, agissant en fonction de ce qu'ils perçoivent comme leur propre intérêt, influencés par d'autres et les influençant à leur tour peuvent générer des phénomènes globaux extrêmement complexes et imprévisibles. Par conséquent, les individus sont peut-être capables de plus grands accomplissements collectivement qu'individuellement. En ce domaine, nous pouvons nous inspirer des insectes sociaux et de leur intelligence collective. En effet, il ne viendrait à l'idée de personne de tenter de comprendre l'organisation d'une fourmilière par l'observation d'une « fourmi représentative ».

Il importe donc de retenir que les comportements globaux sont émergents, et que cette émergence peut engendrer des résultats divergeant fortement de ceux que nous pouvions attendre en observant les individus et leurs comportements. Dès lors que nous envisageons des situations au sein desquelles des individus interagissent directement entre eux, et où les résultats de leurs interactions alimentent le système, l'évolution de ce dernier peut faire apparaître des comportements assez instables. Nous nous intéresserons à deux exemples de ce type de système.

Notre projet USIAS se concentrera sur deux exemples de questions essentielles auxquelles l'économie classique est incapable de répondre de manière satisfaisante. Ceux-ci font partie des problématiques les plus importantes de notre époque : les moyens de parvenir à l'égalité raciale, et la compréhension des manières dont l'humain s'adapte ou non au changement climatique. Nous démontrerons que l'approche inspirée par la théorie de la complexité peut aider à rassembler des champs disciplinaires pouvant apporter des contributions essentielles, mais qui s'opposent les uns aux autres ou sont hors de portée.

Le résultat de ces recherches donnera lieu à un ouvrage, pour lequel un contrat a déjà été signé avec Princeton University Press. Mon séjour à l'USIAS sera consacré à la rédaction de ce livre, aux rencontres et aux discussions avec des chercheurs d'autres disciplines, et plus particulièrement au travail sur ces deux exemples de systèmes sociaux complexes, à la fois très spécifiques et très différents.

Investissements d'Avenir