Université de Strasbourg

Liora Lazarus

Summary

Righting Security or Securitizing Rights

There is an entrenched popular opposition between security on the one hand, and human rights, the rule of law and liberal democracy on the other. This lecture will challenge this opposition, and will reflect on political attempts to reconcile these values, while also warning about the danger of securitising rights, the rule of law and democracy in the process.  

Biography

Liora LazarusLiora Lazarus is an Associate Professor in Human Rights Law at the University of Oxford.

Born and raised in South Africa, she studied at the University of Cape Town, the London School of Economics and Political Science and the University of Oxford. She was a Fellow of the Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law, Freiburg, Germany, before her current position at the University of Oxford. She is the author of a number of academic books and articles, including Contrasting Prisoners Rights (Oxford University Press 2004), Security and Human Rights (Hart 2007) and Reasoning Rights (2014). She has also completed a number of public reports, for the UK Ministry of Justice on balancing security and human rights, the UK Stern Review into the treatment of Rape Complaints, and the European Union Parliament on the genesis of existing human rights frameworks.

Professor Lazarus is an Associate Director of the Oxford Human Rights Hub, and is actively involved in the work of Oxford Pro Bono Publico (which she co-founded). She is the book review editor of the European Human Rights Law Review, and sits on the editorial board of the Journal of Human Rights Practice. She is also on the Advisory Board of Oxford's Centre for Ethics and Law in Armed Conflict.

Professor Lazarus is currently working on two monographs for Hart Publishing entitled Securing Legality and Juridifying Security, the work on these are funded by the British Academy and the Oxford Martin Programme on Human Rights for Future Generations.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Liora Lazarus

Résumé

Mettre du droit dans la sécurité ou sécuriser les droits ?

L'opinion populaire oppose souvent la sécurité aux droits humains, à l'État de droit et à la démocratie libérale. Cette conférence a pour objectif de remettre en cause cette opposition et de s'interroger sur les tentatives politiques de réconciliation de ces valeurs, tout en rappelant les dangers de la sécurisation des droits, de l'État de droit et de la démocratie libérale.  

Biographie

Liora Lazarus

Liora Lazarus est professeur associé spécialisée dans les droits humains à l'université d'Oxford.

Née et élevée en Afrique du Sud, elle a étudié à l'université du Cap, à la London School of Economics and Political Science et à l'université d'Oxford. Avant d'occuper son poste actuel, elle a été Fellow du Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law à Fribourg (Allemagne). Elle est l'auteur de nombreux articles et ouvrages académiques, y compris Contrasting Prisoners Rights (Oxford University Press, 2004), Security and Human Rights (Hart, 2007) et Reasoning Rights (Hart, 2014). Elle a également rédigé plusieurs rapports publics, notamment sur l'équilibre entre la sécurité et les droits humains (pour le compte du ministère de la Justice du Royaume-Uni), sur le traitement des plaintes pour viol (dans le cadre du rapport de la baronne Stern), ou encore sur la genèse des cadres des droits humains existants (pour le Parlement européen).

Le professeur Lazarus est directrice associée de l'Oxford Human Rights Hub et est activement impliquée au sein de l'association Oxford Pro Bono Publico, qu'elle a co-fondée. Elle est rédactrice en chef des comptes rendus de lecture pour European Human Rights Law Review et siège au comité de rédaction du Journal of Human Rights Practice. Elle siège également au comité consultatif d'Oxford's Centre for Ethics and Law in Armed Conflict.

Le professeur Lazarus travaille actuellement sur deux monographies pour Hart Publishing, intitulées Securing Legality et Juridifying Security et financées par la British Academy et l'Oxford Martin Programme on Human Rights for Future Generations.

Investissements d'Avenir