Université de Strasbourg


Call for proposals Fellowships USIAS 2018

The call for proposals for USIAS Fellowships 2018 has been launched. Each year the institute awards...

Joint USIAS-FRIAS Fellowships 2017

In the third call of the joint fellowship programme of the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies...

Kyoto Lecture: Masaki Kashiwara

The second Kyoto Lecture, by Professor Masaki Kashiwara from Kyoto University has taken place on 6...

New USIAS 2017 Fellows

Following the call for 2017 USIAS Fellowships, 13 projects have been selected with 15 Fellows...

USIAS in short

The University of Strasbourg Institute for Advanced Study (USIAS) was created in 2012 to fund excellent, original research in all scientific domains and to serve as a place of intellectual innovation. USIAS is a flagship project of the Excellence Initiative (IdEx) of the University of Strasbourg, and is part of the national strategy for Investment in the Future (Investissements d’Avenir) of France. The Institute is governed by a Board of up to 15 distinguished USIAS Chair holders.

In order to realize this mission, USIAS welcomes excellent researchers from all countries and all disciplinary backgrounds in residence. Each year, the Institute selects 10-20 fellows for a period of between three months to two years.

Strasbourg is the seat of several European institutions, such as the Council of Europe (with its European Court of Human Rights) as well as the European Parliament. Strasbourg's historic city centre, the Grande Île (Grand Island), was classified a World Heritage site by UNESCO in 1988. Strasbourg is immersed in the Franco-German culture and although disputed throughout history, has been a cultural bridge between France and Germany.

The University of Strasbourg, currently the second largest in France, traces its history to 1631. It has been home to historic figures such as Johan Wolfgang von Goethe, Louis Pasteur, Georg Simmel, Albert Schweitzer and Marc Bloch. The University is part of the League of European Research Universities (LERU) and currently counts four Nobel laureates among its faculty, three of which have been awarded in the past 7 years (2011, 2013, 2016).

Investissements d'Avenir