Université de Strasbourg

Todd Reeser

Biography - Todd Reeser

University of Pittsburgh, USA & USIAS Fellow, Society, Stakeholders and Governments in Europe (SAGE), University of Strasbourg and CNRS, France

Todd Reeser, USIAS Fellow 2021Todd W. Reeser is Professor of French and Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies, Chairperson of the Department of French and Italian, and former Director of Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies at the University of Pittsburgh (USA).

His research lies at the intersection of French and gender/sexuality studies, with a focus on politics, identity, and culture. His research combines cutting-edge theoretical approaches with contextualized close-readings of a variety of types of texts. His temporal frames are the early modern and the 20th/21st centuries.

He has published two books in early modern studies: Moderating Masculinity in Early Modern Culture (University of North Carolina Press, 2006) and Setting Plato Straight: Translating Ancient Sexuality in the Renaissance (University of Chicago Press, 2016). The latter book won the Gordan Prize for best book in Renaissance studies from the Renaissance Society of America in 2017. 

Professor Reeser also works in contemporary gender/sexuality studies. In 2010, he published Masculinities in Theory (Blackwell), now a widely-cited monograph providing a series of theoretical models for considering masculinity studies from a literary/cultural perspective, especially as inflected by post-structuralist thought. His more recent work extends that project into the relation between affect studies and masculinity, and he is currently editing a major volume for Routledge on gender and affect, and writing a book for Manchester University Press on queer French film of the 21st century. He is also currently working on a monograph Transgender France: Universalism and Sexual Subjectivity, studying how the inception and development of the category of transgender/transsexual in France starting in the 1950s relates to political ideas on the “universalist” citizen.

Professor Marine de Lassalle, from the research unit Society, Stakeholders and Governments in Europe (SAGE), will welcome Todd Reeser during his time in Strasbourg.

Project - Transgender France: universalism and sexual subjectivity

01/12/2021 - 30/11/2022

In France, the omnipresent principle of universalism means that legally a citizen is defined as a citizen first, and only secondly as a member of a “particular” identitarian or communitarian category (e.g. Muslim, woman, homosexual). As a major element of national identity, French universalism has been widely studied and cited, often with respect to specific categories. Extending the question of the relation between universalism and identity into uncharted territory, my book project Transgender France: Universalism and Sexual Subjectivity makes two historically-based arguments about the French context: that universalism has defined the representation of transgender subjects since the inception of the category “transsexualité” in the 1950s until today; that trans representation has mediated but also critiqued French universalism more broadly, revealing an otherwise unstated assumption of universalism, namely its biopolitical foundation in the idea of an inviolable and stably gendered body. Over the course of five chapters, I study how this relationship is articulated “officially” in medical, psychoanalytic, and legal discourse, but also in more popular sources (television, film, documentary, news, tabloids, literature, theatre, autobiography) through contextualized close readings.

This interdisciplinary project will appeal to readers in both gender studies and French studies, as well as in media studies, communications, and the history of medicine. Because France has such control over medicine and the ways in which “healthy” bodies are produced and reproduced, this national context offers an especially important case study in how transgender and nation-state relate. Despite French culture’s close cultural connections to transgender, no monograph on transgender France written in English exists, and French work on this topic does not take a political approach to representation. This book will help correct the focus on Anglophone contexts in the bourgeoning field of transgender studies.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Todd Reeser

Biographie - Todd Reeser

Université de Pittsburgh, États-Unis & Fellow USIAS, Sociétés, acteurs, gouvernement en Europe (SAGE) - UMR 7363, université de Strasbourg et CNRS, France

Todd Reeser, USIAS Fellow 2021Todd W. Reeser est professeur de français et d’études sur le genre, la sexualité et les femmes, responsable du département de français et d’italien et ex-directeur d’études sur le genre, la sexualité et les femmes de l’université de Pittsburgh (États-Unis).

Ses recherches se situent à l’intersection des études françaises et des études sur le genre/la sexualité, avec une focalisation spécifique sur la politique, l’identité et la culture. Elles associent des approches théoriques de pointe à des lectures contextualisées attentives de divers types de textes. Leur cadre temporel s’étend du début de l’époque moderne aux 20e/21e siècles.

Il a publié deux livres dans le domaine des études pré-modernes : Moderating Masculinity in Early Modern Culture (University of North Carolina Press, 2006) et Setting Plato Straight: Translating Ancient Sexuality in the Renaissance (University of Chicago Press, 2016). Ce dernier ouvrage a remporté en 2017 le prix Gordan du meilleur livre d’études sur la Renaissance, décerné par la Renaissance Society of America. 

Le professeur Reeser travaille également dans le domaine des études contemporaines sur le genre/la sexualité. En 2010, il a publié Masculinities in Theory (Blackwell), aujourd’hui une monographie largement citée apportant une série de modèles théoriques permettant d’envisager les études de la masculinité sous un angle littéraire/culturel, tout particulièrement influencé par la pensée post-structuraliste. Ses recherches plus récentes élargissent ce projet à la relation entre l’étude des affects et la masculinité, et le professeur Reeser travaille actuellement à l’édition d’un volume de premier plan sur le genre et l’affect chez Routledge, tout en rédigeant un livre sur le cinéma queer français du 21e siècle pour Manchester University Press. Il travaille également sur la monographie Transgender France: Universalism and Sexual Subjectivity, qui étudie la manière dont la création et le développement de la catégorie transgenre/transsexuel en France, qui a débuté dans les années 1950, est en relation avec les idées politiques sur le citoyen « universaliste ».

Au cours de son séjour à Strasbourg, Todd Reeser sera accueilli par la professeure Marine de Lassalle au sein de l’UMR Sociétés, acteurs, gouvernement en Europe (SAGE).

 

Projet - La France transgenre : universalisme et subjectivité sexuelle

01/12/2021 - 30/11/2022

En France, l’omniprésent principe d’universalité signifie que juridiquement, un citoyen est d’abord défini comme un citoyen et ensuite comme membre d’une catégorie identitaire ou communautaire « particulière » (par exemple musulman, femme, homosexuel). En tant qu’élément majeur d’identité nationale, l’universalisme français a été largement étudié et cité, souvent en rapport avec des catégories spécifiques. Étendant la question de la relation entre universalisme et identité à des territoires inconnus, mon projet de livre Transgender France : Universalism and Sexual Subjectivity met en avant deux arguments sur le contexte français fondés sur l’histoire : que l’universalisme a défini la représentation de sujets transgenres depuis la création de la catégorie transsexualité des années 1950 à aujourd’hui ; que la représentation trans a modéré mais aussi critiqué l’universalisme français plus largement, révélant un postulat indicible de l’universalisme, à savoir sa fondation biopolitique dans l’idée d’un corps inviolable et au genre stable. J’étudie à travers cinq chapitres comment cette relation est articulée « officiellement » dans le discours médical, psychanalytique et juridique, mais aussi dans des sources plus populaires (télévision, films, documentaires, journaux, tabloïds, littérature, théâtre, autobiographies) à travers d’attentives lectures contextualisées.

Ce projet interdisciplinaire aura un écho à la fois en études de genre et en études françaises, mais également dans les études des médias, la communication et l’histoire de la médecine. Dans la mesure où la France exerce un tel contrôle sur la médecine et la façon dont sont produits et reproduits des corps « sains », ce contexte national offre une étude de cas particulièrement importante sur la manière dont transgenre et État-nation s’associent. Malgré la connexion proche entre la culture française et la transidentité, il n’existe aucune monographie sur la France transgenre en anglais, et les travaux français sur ce sujet ne comportent pas d’approche politique de la représentation. Ce livre contribuera à corriger la focalisation sur les contextes anglophones dans le champ bourgeonnant des études transgenres.

Investissements d'Avenir