Université de Strasbourg

Patrick Schultz

Biography - Patrick Schultz

Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), University of Strasbourg, CNRS and Inserm, France

Patrick Schultz, USIAS Fellow 2021

In his research, Patrick Schultz focuses on understanding the relationships between the structure and function of multiprotein assemblies regulating DNA transcription and modulating chromatin structure. During his PhD at the University of Strasbourg under the supervision of Professor Pierre Oudet, he studied the structure of chromatin and the appearance of nucleosome-free regions by electron microscopy (EM). During a 16-month internship at European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL Heidelberg, Germany) in Professor Jacques Dubochet's team, he learned that biomolecules must be observed under hydrated conditions by cryo-EM, and that chromatin structure is driven by liquid-liquid phase transitions. Upon his return to Strasbourg, Dr. Schultz used numerical image analysis methods to calculate volumetric models of the molecules of interest at the nanoscale. In collaboration with Charles Mioskowski and Luc Lebeau, he developed amphipathic molecules for the two-dimensional crystallization of proteins. After exploring the architecture of RNA polymerase I, he studied the structure of multi-protein assemblies regulating transcription initiation from single particle EM images. His team, based at the IGBMC, provided the first structural models of the yeast transcription factors TFIIH and TFIID and described the distribution of their subunits.

Two team members, Adam Ben Shem and Gabor Papai, developed innovative purification protocols and exploited advances in cryo-EM to achieve atomic models of biomolecules. The team furthermore elucidated the structure of TFIID as well as its mode of interaction with the promoter DNA. After obtaining the first molecular model of the SAGA co-activator in 2004, they were able to solve its atomic structure in 2020 and show that SAGA shares with TFIID a similar mechanism to deliver the TBP protein and initiate transcription.

Project - Structure of human transcription co-activators

01/07/2021 - 30/06/2023

Transcriptional regulation depends on multisubunit co-activators that convert cell signalling and epigenetic status into transcription pre-initiation complex (PIC) assembly. Co-activators of the SWI/SNF family remodel the structure of chromatin, form a nucleosome-depleted region over the transcription start site and render gene promoters accessible. The SAGA co-activator acetylates histones, removes ubiquitin from histones and loads the TATA-box binding protein onto gene promoters. Our objective is to determine the architecture of these molecular machines in order to understand their mode of action.

The groundbreaking novelty of the proposal is to develop methods to address the structure of rare human complexes involved in transcription regulation, since all the currently available structural information has been obtained on molecular complexes purified from yeast cells. The project team expects to develop methods and optimize conditions for large-scale production of human transcription-co-activators. In particular, they will try to humanize yeast cells to recapitulate molecular interactions. One of the objectives of the project is to develop specifically designed human cell lines to tag the molecules of interest with affinity tags and fluorescent tags to facilitate their purification. An additional objective is to graft natural ligands or engineered antibody fragments to chromatography columns in order to purify co-activators from untagged mouse models of human patients. This will open up the possibility to determine the atomic structure of native complexes.

Currently available yeast structural models of co-activators do not sufficiently explain vertebrate-specific biological questions. Human transcription co-activator complexes, the key focus of this project, are involved in rare neurodegenerative genetic disorders and in cancer development. It is far more relevant - but much more challenging - to purify and study the structure of human complexes, and dedicated technologies will be developed in this proposal. Atomic structures of human co-activators are required to explain the molecular mechanisms of these complexes, understand the role of mutations found in patients and evaluate the action of inhibitors of enzymatic activities or protein-protein interactions. Only a few years ago, solving the structure of a co-activator complex was considered as impossible, but recent advances in single particle cryo-electron microscopy have changed the situation. If we are able to meet the challenge of large-scale purification, atomic-scale information will be made available for complexes relevant for human health.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Patrick Schultz

Biographie - Patrick Schultz

Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC) - UMR 7104, université de Strasbourg, CNRS et Inserm U 1258, France

Patrick Schultz, USIAS Fellow 2021Le Dr. Schultz œuvre à comprendre les relations entre la structure et la fonction des assemblages multiprotéiques régulant la transcription de l'ADN, et modulant la structure de la chromatine. Durant sa thèse à l’université de Strasbourg sous la direction du professeur Pierre Oudet, il a étudié la structure de la chromatine et l'apparition de régions dépourvues de nucléosomes par microscopie électronique (EM). Lors d’un stage de 16 mois au sein du Laboratoire européen de biologie moléculaire (EMBL, Heidelberg, Allemagne) dans l'équipe du professeur Jacques Dubochet, il a appris que les biomolécules doivent être observées en conditions hydratées par cryo-EM, et que la structure de la chromatine est pilotée par des transitions de phase liquide-liquide. De retour à Strasbourg, le Dr. Schultz a utilisé des méthodes d'analyse numérique d'images pour calculer des modèles volumétriques des molécules d'intérêt à l’échelle nanométrique. En collaboration avec Charles Mioskowski et Luc Lebeau, il a développé des molécules amphipathiques pour la cristallisation bidimensionnelle des protéines. Après avoir exploré l'architecture de l'ARN polymérase I, il a étudié la structure d’assemblages multi-protéiques régulant l'initiation de la transcription à partir d’images de molécules isolées. Son équipe, installée à l'IGBMC, a fourni les premiers modèles structuraux des facteurs de transcription TFIIH et TFIID chez la levure et a décrit la répartition de leurs sous-unités.

Deux membres de l'équipe, Adam Ben Shem et Gabor Papai, ont développé des protocoles de purification innovants et exploité les avancées en cryo-EM pour atteindre des modèles atomiques des biomolécules. En outre, l’équipe a élucidé la structure de TFIID ainsi que son mode d'interaction avec l'ADN du promoteur. Après avoir obtenu le premier modèle moléculaire du co-activateur SAGA en 2004, elle a pu résoudre la structure atomique de SAGA et montrer que cette dernière partage avec TFIID un mécanisme similaire pour délivrer la protéine TBP et initier la transcription.

Projet - Structure des co-activateurs transcriptionnels humains

01/07/2021 - 30/06/2023

La régulation transcriptionnelle dépend de co-activateurs multiprotéiques qui convertissent la signalisation cellulaire et le statut épigénétique en assemblage d’un complexe d’initiation de la transcription. Les co-activateurs de la famille SWI/SNF remodèlent la structure de la chromatine, forment une région dépourvue de nucléosomes au-dessus du site d'initiation de la transcription et rendent les promoteurs de gènes accessibles à la machinerie transcriptionnelle. Le co-activateur SAGA acétyle les histones, enlève des groupements ubiquitine des histones et charge la protéine de liaison à la boîte TATA (TBP) sur les promoteurs de certains gènes. Notre objectif est de déterminer l’architecture de ces machines moléculaires pour comprendre à l’échelle atomique leur mode de fonctionnement.

L’aspect novateur de ce projet consiste à développer des méthodes originales pour étudier la structure de complexes humains rares impliqués dans la régulation de la transcription. En effet, toutes les informations structurales actuellement disponibles ont été obtenues sur des complexes moléculaires de levure. L’équipe de projet développera des méthodes et optimisera les conditions de production à grande échelle de co-activateurs de transcription humains. En particulier, elle tentera d'humaniser les cellules de levure afin de récapituler les interactions moléculaires. L’un des objectifs du projet est de développer des lignées cellulaires humaines spécifiquement conçues pour marquer les molécules d'intérêt avec des marqueurs d'affinité et des marqueurs fluorescents afin de faciliter leur purification. Un autre objectif est de greffer des ligands naturels ou des fragments d'anticorps modifiés sur des colonnes de chromatographie afin de purifier les co-activateurs à partir de modèles murins non marqués de patients humains. Cela ouvrira la possibilité de déterminer la structure atomique des complexes natifs.

Les modèles structurels de levure actuellement disponibles pour les co-activateurs ne permettent pas d'expliquer les questions biologiques spécifiques aux vertébrés. Les co-activateurs humains au cœur de ce projet sont impliqués dans de rares troubles génétiques neurodégénératifs et dans le développement du cancer. Il est plus pertinent, mais beaucoup plus difficile, de purifier et d'étudier la structure des complexes humains, et des technologies dédiées seront développées dans cette proposition. Les structures atomiques des co-activateurs humains sont nécessaires pour expliquer les mécanismes moléculaires de ces complexes, comprendre le rôle des mutations trouvées chez les patients et évaluer l'action des inhibiteurs d’activités enzymatiques ou d’interactions protéine-protéine. Il y a quelques années seulement, la résolution de la structure d'un complexe co-activateur était considérée comme impossible, mais les progrès récents de la microscopie cryo-électronique de molécules uniques ont changé la donne. Si nous sommes capables de relever le défi de la purification à grande échelle, des informations à l'échelle atomique seront disponibles pour les complexes pertinents pour la santé humaine.

Investissements d'Avenir