Université de Strasbourg

Isabelle Marc

Biography - Isabelle Marc

Complutense University of Madrid, Spain & USIAS Fellow, Contemporary Approaches to Artistic Creation and Reflection (ACCRA), University of Strasbourg, France

Isabelle Marc, USIAS Fellow 2021

With a PhD in French literature from the Complutense University of Madrid (Spain), where she is now associate professor, Isabelle Marc works on French contemporary culture, especially on mainstream popular music and literature. Her research focuses on the relationship between aesthetics (popular, highbrow, middlebrow), identity (national, gender and racial) and transcultural phenomena in the European context (cultural transfers and music diplomacy).

From a cultural studies and gender studies perspective, she has published extensively on French ACI (auteur-compositeur-interprète - which can be considered as equivalent to the figure of singer-songwriter in English) and popular music in general in journals such as Modern & Contemporary France, French Cultural Studies, Belphégor and Volume! La revue des musiques populaires, and on French contemporary women writers, in particular Virginie Despentes. She has recently co-edited three collective volumes: The Singer-Songwriter in Europe: Paradigms, Politics and Place (Routledge, 2016); Canon et écrits de femmes en France et en Espagne dans l’actualité (2011-2016) (Peter Lang, 2020) and Carmen revisitée/Revisiter Carmen (Peter Lang, 2020). In 2014-2015, she was awarded a Leverhulme Research Fellowship to study music transfers and cultural public policies at the University of Leeds (United Kingdom), where she co-convenes the European Popular Musics Research Group; she is convenor of the research group on Literary and Cultural Studies and Gender Studies at Complutense University and is editor of Thélème. Revista Complutense de Estudios Franceses.

During her time in Strasbourg, Isabelle Marc will be hosted by Professor Alessandro Arbo, from the research unit Contemporary Approaches to Artistic Creation and Reflection (ACCRA), and carry out her research within a new Interdisciplinary Thematic Institute (ITI) of the University of Strasbourg: the Centre for research and experimentation on the artistic act (CREAA).

Project - Pop divas: popular music, representation and gender in the digital era in France

01/08/2021 - 31/08/2022

The aim of this project is to analyse representations of French ‘pop divas’, i.e. the most popular women music artists in France, both in public and critical discourses and in their own work, over the last 20 years. It will adopt an interdisciplinary perspective, combining cultural studies and gender studies, focusing on the analysis of gender politics in the context of the digital era.

French popular music since the 2000s has undergone profound shifts in its production, mediation and reception processes, mainly under the influence of digitalization and globalization, but also in terms of gender relations: women artists are now more visible, they get more media and critical attention and obtain better commercial success. In fact, the very success and visibility of artists as different as Clara Luciani, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Aya Nakamura, La Féline, Yseult and Aloïse Sauvage challenge traditional male dominance and sexism in French popular music. Moreover, in the way they construct their identity, these women artists undermine traditional visions of masculinity and femininity, both providing and reflecting ‘queer’ models to the mainstream public. Often, they also incarnate diverse ethnic and cultural identities, which challenge the all-white and Franco-French representation of Frenchness.

The aim of this project is thus to explore this new configuration of French popular music by deconstructing the elitist and legitimised ideal of the masculine artist, which is still highly relevant in France, and to study the role played by women artists in contemporary French popular music, using artists such as Mylène Farmer, Christine and the Queens, Aya Nakamura and Angèle, as main case studies. Secondly, it aims to analyse how the most popular among these women artists are situated and situate themselves with respect to the model of the male singer-songwriter and to gender politics in general. It will further reflect on the extent to which the digitalization of culture has been a key factor in the creation and reception of these new pop divas by means of the creative use of social media, reaction videos and other public responses, and on the interaction between cultural trends and corporate interests.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Isabelle Marc

Biographie - Isabelle Marc

Université Complutense de Madrid, Espagne & Fellow USIAS, Approches contemporaines de la création et de la réflexion artistiques (ACCRA) – UR 3402, université de Strasbourg, France

Isabelle Marc, USIAS Fellow 2021Docteure en littérature française de l’université Complutense de Madrid (Espagne) où elle est professeure titulaire, Isabelle Marc travaille sur la culture française contemporaine ; elle s’intéresse notamment aux musiques et aux littératures mainstream, dans leurs rapports à l’esthétique (populaire, élevée, moyenne), à l’identité (nationale, de genre, de race) et aux phénomènes de transculturalité dans le contexte européen (transferts musicaux et diplomatie musicale).

Du point de vue des études culturelles et des études de genre, elle a publié de nombreux travaux sur les auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes (ACI) français et les musiques actuelles en France dans des revues telles que Modern & Contemporary France, French Cultural Studies, Belphégor ou Volume ! La revue des musiques populaires, et aussi sur des écrivaines contemporaines, notamment Virginie Despentes. Elle a récemment co-dirigé trois volumes collectifs : The Singer-Songwriter in Europe : Paradigms, Politics and Place (Routledge, 2016) ; Canon et écrits de femmes en France et en Espagne dans l’actualité (2011-2016) (Peter Lang, 2020) et Carmen revisitée/Revisiter Carmen (Peter Lang, 2020). En 2014-2015, elle a obtenu une Leverhulme Research Fellowship pour étudier les transferts musicaux dans leurs rapports aux politiques culturelles publiques à l’université de Leeds (Royaume-Uni), où elle co-dirige l’European Popular Musics Research Group. Elle dirige également la revue Thélème. Revista Complutense de Estudios Franceses ainsi que le Groupe de recherches en études littéraires et culturelles et études de genre de l’université Complutense de Madrid.

Lors de son séjour à Strasbourg, Isabelle Marc sera accueillie par le professeur Alessandro Arbo de l’UMR Approches contemporaines de la création et de la réflexion artistique (ACCRA) et effectuera ses recherches dans le cadre d’un nouvel Institut thématique interdisciplinaire (ITI) de l’université de Strasbourg : le Centre de recherche et d’expérimentation sur l’acte artistique (CREAA).

Projet - Les divas pop : musiques actuelles, représentations et genre à l’ère numérique en France

01/08/2021 - 31/08/2022

Le projet vise à analyser les représentations des « divas pop » françaises, soit les artistes musicales les plus (re-)connues en France, aussi bien dans les discours social et critique que dans leur propre travail, au cours des 20 dernières années, dans une approche interdisciplinaire, associant les études de genre et les études culturelles.

Les musiques actuelles en France depuis les années 2000 ont subi des mutations profondes quant aux processus de production, de médiation et de réception, notamment en raison des phénomènes de numérisation et de mondialisation, mais aussi en ce qui concerne les rapports entre les genres. En effet, les artistes musicales sont désormais plus visibles : elles font l’objet d’une attention critique et médiatique accrue et leur succès commercial est indéniable. Ainsi, la trajectoire d’artistes telles que Clara Luciani, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Aya Nakamura, La Féline, Yseult ou Aloïse Sauvage parmi bien d’autres questionnent l’androcentrisme et le sexisme qui ont traditionnellement dominé le champ musical français. Par ailleurs, dans leurs mécanismes de construction identitaire, ces femmes défient les visions traditionnelles de la masculinité et de la féminité, à la fois créant et reflétant des modèles « queer », et les rendant accessibles au public majoritaire. Enfin, elles incarnent souvent des identités raciales et culturelles qui interrogent les représentations blanches et franco-françaises de la francité.

Ce projet se propose donc en premier lieu d’étudier cette nouvelle configuration des musiques actuelles françaises en déconstruisant l’idéal élitiste et légitimé de l’artiste musical, toujours dominant en France, et d’étudier le rôle de ces nouvelles divas, notamment par l’analyse de figures représentatives telles que Mylène Farmer, Christine and the Queens, Angèle ou Aya Nakamura. En deuxième lieu, le projet cherche à étudier comment ces femmes artistes se situent et sont situées par rapport au modèle de l’auteur-compositeur-interprète (ACI) masculin et à la politique des genres en général. Enfin, il réfléchira aux effets de la numérisation des pratiques culturelles dans l’apparition et la réception de ses divas pop contemporaines à travers l’utilisation des réseaux sociaux, des vidéos « réaction », et d’autres réponses du public et à l’interaction entre les tendances culturelles et les intérêts de l’industrie musicale.

Investissements d'Avenir