Université de Strasbourg

Tina Mukherjee & Angela Giangrande

Biography - Tina Mukherjee

Institute for Stem Cell Science and Regenerative Medicine (inStem), Bangalore, India & USIAS Fellow at the Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), University of Strasbourg, CNRS and Inserm, France

Tina Mukherjee, USIAS Fellow 2021Tina Mukherjee is an assistant investigator at the Institute for Stem Cell Science and Regenerative Medicine (inStem) in Bangalore, India. She obtained her Bachelor of Science degree in biochemistry from the University of Delhi and her Master of Science degree in biochemistry from the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). She went on to gain a PhD in developmental biology from the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Germany, where she worked with Dr. Martin Zeidler and Professor Herbert Jäckle on investigating the role of JAK (Janus tyrosine Kinase)-STAT (Signal Transducer and Activator of Transcription) pathway in cellular proliferation. Subsequently she moved to the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), USA, where she conducted her post-doctoral work in the laboratory of Professor Utpal Banerjee. At UCLA, she started exploring hematopoiesis and extensively worked on characterizing signaling mechanisms in blood cell fate specification and stress response. Her work led to novel findings like non-canonical interactions between Hif-α and Notch in blood fate specification and the involvement of systemic cues like nutrition and olfaction in development and maintenance of blood-progenitor cells. Her findings highlight the importance of local and systemic metabolic signals in blood progenitor maintenance.

For her exemplary work at UCLA, Dr. Mukherjee was awarded an MBI (Molecular Biology Institute) Postdoctoral Award for Research Excellence and the prestigious Boyer-Peter Award in 2011. She was furthermore nominated for the UCLA Chancellor’s Award for Postdoctoral Research and was a recipient of the Nanyang Assistant Professorship (NAP) from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. Her laboratory at inStem focuses on investigating metabolic requirements for the development of blood cells and exploring non-immune functions of immune cells in homeostasis and physiology. The current work from Tina Mukherjee’s laboratory implicates the use of olfaction in immune priming and the importance of blood cells in animal growth regulation. She is the recipient of the Ramalingaswami Re-entry Fellowship and the Har Gobind Khorana Innovation Young Biotechnologist Award (IYBA-2017) awarded by the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, India.

Biography - Angela Giangrande

Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), University of Strasbourg, CNRS and Inserm, France

Angela Giangrande, USIAS Fellow 2021

Angela Giangrande is a CNRS (French National Centre for Scientific Research) research director at the Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC) in Strasbourg. She obtained her PhD in Strasbourg, where she developed her interest in transcriptional regulation and in the Drosophila melanogaster genetic model. After a European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) post-doctoral fellowship in the USA at the University of Washington, Seattle, she returned to Strasbourg, where she set up her group at the IGBMC, then directed by Professor Chambon. She characterized the cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying the differentiation of glial cells in Drosophila. Glia represent the second major population of the nervous system and are fundamental actors in neuronal development, function and survival. In flies, they also provide an immune function, acting as the functional homologs of vertebrate microglia, macrophages that move into the nervous system during development. Microglia contribute to shape the nervous system and are involved in pathologies as severe as cancer and multiple sclerosis.

The work of Angela Giangrande revealed the role of the Glide/Gcm transcription factor in the development and function of Drosophila glia and her previous USIAS fellowship (2013) allowed her to highlight the evolutionary conservation of this key transcriptional pathway in vertebrate microglia. Finally, she disclosed key molecular features and the heterogeneity of the hemocytes, the immune cells residing outside the Drosophila nervous system that represent ideal sensors of the internal state. Fly hemocytes constitute the functional homologs of the vertebrate macrophages and, as the latter, they arise in multiple hematopoietic waves. Her work hence opens novel perspectives for understanding the role of scavenger cells beyond immunity, using a simple animal model that allows for in vivo and in vitro analyses at unprecedented levels of resolution.

Angela Giangrande has coordinated several national and international grants and was awarded the France-Taiwan Scientific Prize by the French Academy of Sciences (2009). In 2019, she created an International Associated Laboratory (LIA) on the Impact and Regulation of Calcium Signalling in Drosophila Immune Cells (CALIM), which partners the CNRS and University of Strasbourg with the National Centre for Biological Science (NCBS) and inStem in Bangalore, India.

Project - Immune cells: metabolic sensors in coupling animal growth with nutrient availability

01/09/2021 - 31/08/2023

Our understanding of animal growth is largely from the standpoint of the endocrine system, like the thyroid and pituitary glands, the hypothalamus, and the pancreas, to name a few. Their functioning coordinates nutrient intake with animal growth during their development. Thus, the thrust in the field is to understand how these organs communicate to orchestrate growth.

Recent work from the laboratories of Dr. Giangrande at IGBMC and Dr. Mukherjee at inStem has revealed distinct metabolic states of immune cells across animal development. Their work also reveals a unique engagement of immune cells in coordinating animal growth. Using the fruit fly as their model system, the laboratories investigate fundamental principles underlying blood development, from embryogenesis to their organization, in the adult fly and explore non-canonical roles of immune cells outside immunity. They find that altering immune metabolic activity affects animal size. Specifically, in developing animals that carry immune cells with reduced metabolic activity, they emerge as small adults. Contrarily, animals carrying immune cells with increased activity emerge as large adults. These findings are exciting as they place immune cells as regulators of animal growth.

This collaborative initiative between the laboratories of Angela Giangrande and Tina Mukherjee aims to investigate the novel function of immune cells in regulation of animal growth. The work puts an emphasis on understanding the importance of immune metabolic activity, and its influence on peripheral growth control mechanisms.

Links

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Tina Mukherjee & Angela Giangrande

Biographie - Tina Mukherjee

Institut de recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénératrice (inStem), Bangalore, Inde & Fellow USIAS, Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC) - UMR 7104, université de Strasbourg, CNRS et Inserm U 1258, France

Tina Mukherjee, USIAS Fellow 2021

Tina Mukherjee est une jeune chef d’équipe à l’Institut de recherche sur les cellules souches et la médecine régénératrice (inStem) de Bangalore, Inde. Elle est titulaire d'une licence de biochimie de l’université de Delhi, et d’un master de biochimie de l’All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS). Elle a ensuite obtenu son doctorat de biologie du développement à l’Institut Max-Planck de chimie biophysique (Allemagne), où elle a travaillé avec le Dr. Martin Zeidler et le professeur Herbert Jäckle sur le rôle du système de transduction de signal JAK (Janus tyrosine kinase)-STAT (Signal Transducer and Activator of Transcription) dans la prolifération cellulaire. Elle a ensuite mené ses recherches postdoctorales à l’université de Californie à Los Angeles (UCLA, États-Unis), au sein du laboratoire du professeur Utpal Banerjee. C’est à l’UCLA qu’elle a commencé à explorer l'hématopoïèse, et à travailler de façon intensive sur la caractérisation des mécanismes de signalisation dans la spécification du destin cellulaire et la réponse de stress des cellules sanguines. Ses recherches ont mené à des découvertes novatrices, comme les interactions non canoniques entre Hif-α et Notch dans la spécification du destin cellulaire et l'implication de signaux systémiques comme la nutrition et l’olfaction dans le développement et la préservation des cellules souches sanguines. Ses découvertes soulignent l’importance des signaux métaboliques locaux et systémiques dans la préservation des cellules souches sanguines.

Pour ses travaux exemplaires au sein de l’UCLA, le Dr. Mukherjee a reçu un prix postdoctoral d’excellence dans la recherche du Molecular Biology Institute (MBI) ainsi que le prestigieux prix Boyer-Peter en 2011. Elle a également été nominée pour le UCLA Chancellor’s Award de recherche postdoctorale et a obtenu une bourse Nanyang Assistant Professorship (NAP) de l’université technologique de Nanyang (Singapour). Son laboratoire au sein d’inStem se concentre sur l’étude des exigences métaboliques du développement des cellules sanguines et sur l’exploration des fonctions non immunitaires des cellules immunitaires dans l’homéostasie et la physiologie. Les recherches actuelles du laboratoire de Tina Mukherjee impliquent l’utilisation de l’olfaction dans l’amorçage immunitaire et l’importance des cellules sanguines dans la régulation de la croissance animale. Elle est également récipiendaire de la bourse de retour Ramalingaswami ainsi que du Har Gobind Khorana Innovation Young Biotechnologist Award (IYBA-2017) décerné par le département de biotechnologie du ministère indien de la Science et de la Technologie.

Biographie - Angela Giangrande

Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC) - UMR 7104, université de Strasbourg, CNRS et Inserm U 1258, France

Angela Giangrande, USIAS Fellow 2021

Angela Giangrande est Directrice de recherche CNRS (Centre national de la recherche scientifique) au sein de l’Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC) de Strasbourg. Elle a obtenu son doctorat à Strasbourg, où elle s’est intéressée à la régulation transcriptionnelle ainsi qu’au modèle génétique Drosophila melanogaster. Après avoir obtenu une bourse de l’Organisation européenne de biologie moléculaire (EMBO) pour un séjour postdoctoral aux États-Unis à l’université de Washington, Seattle, elle est revenue à Strasbourg où elle a établi son groupe de recherche au sein de l’IGBMC, dirigé à l’époque par le professeur Chambon. Elle y a caractérisé les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires sous-tendant la différenciation des cellules gliales chez Drosophila. Les cellules gliales représentent la deuxième population la plus importante du système nerveux et sont des acteurs fondamentaux du développement, de la fonction et de la survie des neurones. Chez la drosophile, elles ont également une fonction immunitaire, agissant comme des homologues fonctionnels des cellules microgliales des vertébrés, des macrophages qui intègrent le système nerveux au cours du développement. Les cellules microgliales contribuent à façonner le système nerveux et sont impliquées dans des pathologies graves comme le cancer et la sclérose en plaques.

Les recherches d’Angela Giangrande ont révélé le rôle du facteur de transcription Glide/Gcm dans le développement ainsi que dans la fonction de la glie de la drosophile. Son précédent fellowship USIAS (2013) lui a permis de mettre en évidence la conservation évolutive de cette voie de signalisation clé dans la microglie des vertébrés. Enfin, elle a révélé les caractéristiques moléculaires clés ainsi que l’hétérogénéité des hémocytes, les cellules immunitaires résidant à l’extérieur du système nerveux de la drosophile qui représentent des capteurs idéaux de l’état interne. Les hémocytes de Drosophila constituent les homologues fonctionnels des macrophages des vertébrés et, comme ces derniers, ils apparaissent en vagues hématopoïétiques multiples. Par conséquent, ces travaux ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives de compréhension du rôle des phagocytes au-delà de l’immunité, à l’aide d’un modèle animal simple permettant des analyses in vivo et in vitro à des niveaux de résolution sans précédent.

Angela Giangrande a coordonné plusieurs réseaux nationaux et internationaux et a reçu le Grand prix scientifique franco-taïwanais 2009 de l'Académie des sciences. En 2019, elle a créé un Laboratoire international associé (LIA) travaillant sur l’impact et la régulation de la signalisation du calcium dans les cellules immunitaires de la drosophile (CALIM), qui établit un partenariat entre le CNRS et l’université de Strasbourg d’une part, et le National Centre for Biological Science (NCBS) et inStem de Bangalore (Inde) d’autre part.

Projet - Les cellules immunitaires : des senseurs métaboliques couplant la croissance de l’organisme et la disponibilité des nutriments

01/09/2021 - 31/08/2023

Notre compréhension de la croissance animale s’effectue en grande partie du point de vue du système endocrinien, par exemple la thyroïde, l’hypophyse, l’hypothalamus ou le pancréas. Leur fonctionnement coordonne l’absorption de nutriments avec la croissance des animaux au cours de leur développement. Par conséquent, l’enjeu actuel consiste à comprendre comment ces organes communiquent afin d’orchestrer la croissance.

Des recherches récentes issues des laboratoires du Dr. Giangrande à l’IGBMC et du Dr. Mukherjee au sein d’inStem ont révélé des états métaboliques distincts des cellules immunitaires au cours du développement animal. Leurs travaux révèlent également une implication unique des cellules immunitaires dans la coordination de la croissance animale. En utilisant la drosophile comme système modèle, leurs laboratoires étudient les principes sous-jacents fondamentaux du développement des cellules sanguines, de l’embryogenèse à leur organisation, chez la mouche adulte, et explorent les rôles non canoniques des cellules immunitaires au-delà de l’immunité. Elles ont découvert que l’altération de l’activité métabolique immunitaire affecte la taille des animaux. Plus spécifiquement, en développant des animaux porteurs de cellules immunitaires à l’activité métabolique réduite, ceux-ci deviennent des adultes de petite taille. À l’inverse, des animaux porteurs de cellules immunitaires à l’activité métabolique accrue deviennent des adultes de grande taille. Ces découvertes sont enthousiasmantes, dans la mesure où elles démontrent que les cellules immunitaires régulent la croissance animale.

Cette initiative de collaboration entre les laboratoires d’Angela Giangrande et de Tina Mukherjee a pour objectif d’étudier cette fonction jusqu’ici inconnue des cellules immunitaires dans la régulation du développement animal. Leurs travaux se focalisent tout particulièrement sur la compréhension de l’importance de l’activité métabolique immunitaire, ainsi que son influence sur les mécanismes de croissance animale.

Liens

Investissements d'Avenir