Université de Strasbourg

Nacho Molina

Biography - Nacho Molina

Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), University of Strasbourg, CNRS and Inserm, France

Nacho Molina, USIAS Fellow 2021

Nacho Molina obtained a master's degree in theoretical physics at the Complutense University of Madrid in 2004 and a PhD in computational biology from the University of Basel in 2008. His doctoral work focused on genome evolution and regulatory network structure in bacteria under the supervision of Professor Erik van Nimwegen. Afterwards, he joined the group of Professor Felix Naef at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) for his postdoctoral training from 2009 to 2013. In close collaboration with Professor Ueli Schibler, he developed novel computational methods to investigate the stochasticity of gene expression. His research revealed gene-specific kinetic signatures of transcriptional bursting in higher eukaryotic cells. For these results, he was awarded the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) Young Bioinformatician Award in 2011, and obtained a Chancellor’s fellowship to become an independent researcher at the University of Edinburgh in 2013. Since 2016, he is an investigator at the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) and group leader at the IGBMC in Strasbourg.

Nacho Molina’s main research focus at the IGBMC is to develop stochastic and biophysical models of eukaryotic gene regulation. His work lies at the interface between bioinformatics and biophysics, combining tools and methods from both fields to develop mechanistic models of transcriptional regulation based on both large-scale genome-wide data and single-cell imaging data. More recently, he started a new line of research combining mechanistic biophysical models and advanced machine learning methods to analyse single-cell genomic experiments.

Project - Modelling gene regulation dynamics across the cell-cycle in single embryonic stem cells

01/12/2021 - 30/11/2023

The cell cycle is a fundamental process of life, and tight control over its progression is crucial in many biological processes such as development, whereas loss of this control is implicated in diseases like cancer. However, despite all that we know about the cell cycle, a quantitative dynamic understanding of gene regulation throughout the entire cell cycle is still lacking. Moreover, the connection between the cell cycle regulation and pluripotency - the capacity of cells to become any cell of the body through a process called differentiation - is not well understood. In reality, the study of gene expression dynamics throughout the cell cycle is quite challenging. It has typically relied on the synchronization of cell populations; however, this approach has serious limitations as the protocols induce a strong perturbation on cells. Furthermore, and most critically, such approaches cannot be performed in vivo.

In this project, we propose to combine a state-of-the-art single-cell sequencing technology with biophysical modelling and advanced machine learning methods to construct high-resolution cell cycle gene expression maps in different stages of pluripotency and differentiation. This approach will allow us to shed new light on the connections between these processes and the cell cycle. We envision that these results will facilitate the development of new cell therapies. Ultimately, the computational framework developed in this project could potentially be applied to a wide range of systems, from cell lines to model organisms and human patients. Therefore, we expect that it will aid the scientific community to study the cell cycle in different biological contexts ranging from development to diseases like cancer.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Nacho Molina

Biographie - Nacho Molina

Institut de génétique et de biologie moléculaire et cellulaire (IGBMC) - UMR 7104, université de Strasbourg, CNRS et Inserm U 1258, France

Nacho Molina, USIAS Fellow 2021

Nacho Molina a obtenu une maîtrise en physique théorique à l'université Complutense de Madrid en 2004, et un doctorat en biologie computationnelle à l'université de Bâle en 2008. Ses travaux de doctorat ont porté sur l'évolution du génome et la structure du réseau de régulation chez les bactéries, sous la direction du professeur Erik van Nimwegen. Par la suite, il a rejoint le groupe du professeur Felix Naef à l'École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) pour sa formation postdoctorale, de 2009 à 2013. En étroite collaboration avec le professeur Ueli Schibler, il a développé de nouvelles méthodes de calcul afin d’étudier la stochasticité de l'expression des gènes. Ses recherches ont révélé des signatures cinétiques spécifiques au gène de l'éclatement transcriptionnel dans les cellules eucaryotes supérieures. Pour ces résultats, il a reçu le prix SIB (Institut suisse de bioinformatique) du meilleur jeune bioinformaticien en 2011 et a obtenu une « Chancellor’s Fellowship » pour devenir chercheur indépendant à l'université d'Édimbourg en 2013. Depuis 2016, il est investigateur au CNRS et chef de groupe à l'IGBMC de Strasbourg.

Le principal objectif de recherche de Nacho Molina à l’IGBMC consiste à développer des modèles stochastiques et biophysiques de la régulation des gènes eucaryotes. Ses travaux se situent à l'interface entre la bioinformatique et la biophysique, combinant outils et méthodes des deux domaines afin de développer des modèles mécanistes de régulation transcriptionnelle basés à la fois sur des données à grande échelle à l'échelle du génome et des données d'imagerie unicellulaire. Plus récemment, il a lancé une nouvelle ligne de recherche combinant des modèles biophysiques mécanistes et des méthodes avancées d'apprentissage automatique afin d’analyser des expériences génomiques unicellulaires.

Projet - Modélisation de la dynamique de la régulation des gènes pendant le cycle cellulaire dans des cellules souches embryonnaires uniques

01/12/2021 - 30/11/2023

Le cycle cellulaire est un processus fondamental de la vie, et un contrôle strict de sa progression est crucial dans de nombreux processus biologiques tels que le développement, alors que la perte de ce contrôle est impliquée dans des maladies comme le cancer. Cependant, malgré tout ce que nous savons sur le cycle cellulaire, une compréhension dynamique quantitative de la régulation des gènes tout au long du cycle cellulaire fait encore défaut. De plus, le lien entre la régulation du cycle cellulaire et la pluripotence, c’est-à-dire la capacité des cellules à devenir n'importe quelle cellule du corps par un processus appelé différenciation, n'est pas bien compris. L'étude de la dynamique de l'expression des gènes tout au long du cycle cellulaire est en fait assez difficile. Cela a généralement reposé sur la synchronisation des populations cellulaires, mais cette approche présente de sérieuses limitations car les protocoles induisent une forte perturbation des cellules. En outre, et de manière plus critique, de telles approches ne peuvent pas être réalisées in vivo.

Dans ce projet, nous proposons de combiner une technologie de séquençage unicellulaire de pointe avec une modélisation biophysique et des méthodes avancées d'apprentissage automatique pour construire des cartes d'expression génique du cycle cellulaire à haute résolution à différents stades de pluripotence et de différenciation. Cette approche nous permettra d'apporter un éclairage nouveau sur les liens entre ces processus et le cycle cellulaire. Nous envisageons que ces résultats faciliteront le développement de nouvelles thérapies cellulaires. En fin de compte, la méthode computationnelle développée dans ce projet pourrait potentiellement être appliquée à un large éventail de systèmes, des lignées cellulaires aux organismes modèles et aux patients humains. Par conséquent, nous espérons que ce projet aidera la communauté scientifique à étudier le cycle cellulaire dans différents contextes biologiques allant du développement à des maladies comme le cancer.

Investissements d'Avenir