Université de Strasbourg

Benoît Gall

Biography - Benoît Gall

Hubert Curien Pluridisciplinary Institute (IPHC), University of Strasbourg and CNRS, France

Benoît Gall, USIAS Fellow 2021Professor Benoît Gall is a graduate of the Louis Pasteur University in Strasbourg (1990), and defended his PhD at the University Paris-Saclay (Paris XI) in 1994. He is a nuclear spectroscopist and investigates the disappearance of nuclear pairing in high spin structures (super-deformed nuclei) and in the rotational bands of deformed nuclei. He passed his accreditation (habilitation) to direct research at the University of Strasbourg in 2000. In 2011, his developments in digital instrumentation, the innovative rotary target system and the development of 50Ti isotopic beam, made possible the first prompt spectroscopy of a superheavy nucleus, the 256Rf (Z=104). In 2008, he was awarded the first international Zdzisław Szymański Prize at the ENAM Conference for outstanding contribution to experimental in-beam studies of superdeformed, octupole deformed and heavy nuclei. In 2015, he and his collaborators were awarded with the second JINR (Joint Institute for Nuclear Research) prize for the production of intense ion beams from metallic compounds from ECR (Electron cyclotron resonance) ion sources using the MIVOC (Metallic Ions out of Volatile Organic Compounds) method. His work has made it possible to provide new accelerators, dedicated to superheavy element studies, with isotopic beams of 50Ti and 54Cr of unprecedented intensity that will allow, in the coming months, to tackle the synthesis of the new elements Z= 119 and 120 located in the 9th period of Mendeleev’s table.

A university teacher with a multidisciplinary approach to research, including societal issues, Benoît Gall was co-responsible for the dismantling of the university reactor in Strasbourg and is also interested in the natural reactors in Oklo (Gabon, Africa). Together with his close collaborators, he explained the Inception and evolution of these natural cores almost two billion years ago.

With the new superheavy elements factories the intense beams leave only very little chance of survival to the rare isotope targets required for the production of superheavy nucleis. With this USIAS project, Professor Gall is taking this problem into the realm of the physics of innovative materials in order to identify a target support that can withstand these extreme conditions and make it possible to synthesize elements beyond Z=120. This will also allow sufficient nuclei to be produced beyond the copernicium (Z=112) to study their chemical properties, where relativistic effects no longer allow for periodic element classification and where the first effects of the g electron shells will be observed.

Project - Developing innovative materials for extreme beams and rare targets

01/10/2021 - 31/03/2024

Our present-day understanding of atomic physics and nuclear cohesion is based on a long tradition of confrontation between experimental data and theoretical models. Although all the models agree that an island of increased stability should exist for superheavy nuclei, as an ultimate fingerprint of nuclear quantal effects, they do not agree on its location. Theoretical approach of atom cohesion demonstrates the need to account for relativistic effects in the superheavy elements (SHE) region setting limits to “traditional” Mendeleev’s classification. Will the first “g-shell” atoms appear at Z=121 as predicted by Mendeleev's table? What are their properties? Is Oganesson (Z=118), the heaviest element synthesized to date, a rare gas as suggested by the periodic table of elements or a metalloid due to increasing influence of relativistic effects? Experiments will reveal the truth. Nuclear physicists and chemists will extract strong and efficient constraints on theoretical models through the study of these extreme nuclei. 

New instruments dedicated to the study of the heaviest elements have recently become operational in Russia and Japan. They will use unprecedented beam intensities to compensate the extremely low production probability of superheavy elements (SHE). IPHC has developed world-leading expertise in beams produced using Metallic Ions out of Volatile Organic Compounds (MIVOC). This has been achieved through a multidisciplinary collaboration between chemists, physicists and ion source experts that has existed for almost ten years. This USIAS project opens a new interdisciplinary collaboration around plasma physics in ion sources with a new high temperature inductive oven, in order to enable the new installations to operate at nominal intensity with 50Ti and 54Cr isotopic beams.

With up to 60 trillion (6 1013) heavy ions per second, the beam spot power will be unsustainable for standard target backing materials. The search for new, existing, materials or the development of innovative materials is of utmost importance for the future of SHE studies. This project will explore the heavy-ion induced defects and the dose effects for new target materials and innovative target material support developed within this project. The proximity of the Institute of Physics and Chemistry of Materials of Strasbourg (IPCMS), and the existing close collaboration with Oak Ridge National Laboratory (United States), FLNR Dubna (Russia) and RIKEN Tokyo (Japan), represent a unique opportunity to develop these new materials for SHE science, nuclear applications and even for space applications. The issues addressed in the present USIAS project aim to solve what will be the most critical limitation for the new scientific facilities dedicated to SHE science within the next years. Without these innovative foils, the new SHE machines will not be able to run at nominal intensity. This development is therefore of utmost importance for the production of the next SHE elements!

Links

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Benoît Gall

Biographie - Benoît Gall

Institut pluridisciplinaire Hubert-Curien (IPHC) - UMR 7178, université de Strasbourg et CNRS, France

Benoît Gall, USIAS Fellow 2021Le professeur Benoît Gall est diplômé de l'université Louis-Pasteur de Strasbourg (1990), et a défendu sa thèse de doctorat à l'université de Paris 11-Orsay en 1994. Il est spectroscopiste nucléaire et étudie l'appariement nucléaire dans les structures à haut spin (noyaux super déformés) et dans les bandes de rotation des noyaux déformés. Il passe son habilitation à diriger des recherches en 2000 à l'université de Strasbourg. Avec ses développements d'instrumentation numérique, son système novateur de cible rotative et le développement faisceaux isotopiques de 50Ti, il rend possible en 2011 la première spectroscopie prompte d'un noyau superlourd, le 256Rf (Z=104). Il reçoit en 2008 à la conférence ENAM le premier prix international Zdzisław Szymański pour sa contribution expérimentale à l'étude des noyaux superdéformés, octopolaires et très lourds. En 2015, il reçoit avec ses collaborateurs le second prix du JINR pour la production de faisceaux métalliques intenses. Ses travaux permettent de fournir aux nouvelles « usines à noyaux superlourds » des faisceaux isotopiques de 50Ti et 54Cr d'une intensité sans précédent qui permettront dans les mois qui viennent de s'attaquer à la synthèse des premiers éléments de la 9e période du tableau de Mendeleïev, les éléments Z= 119 et 120.

Enseignant et chercheur pluridisciplinaire ouvert aux problématiques sociétales, il a été co-responsable du démantèlement du réacteur universitaire de Strasbourg et s'intéresse également aux réacteurs naturels d'Oklo (Gabon, Afrique). Avec ses proches collaborateurs, il donne une explication de la genèse et de l'évolution de ces cœurs naturels il y a près de 2 milliards d'années.

Avec les nouvelles usines à éléments superlourds, les intensités de faisceaux ne laissent que peu de chances de survie aux cibles isotopiques rares nécessaires à la production de noyaux superlourds. Avec ce projet USIAS, le professeur Gall porte ce problème à la physique des matériaux innovants afin de trouver le support de cible capable de supporter ces conditions extrêmes et de rendre possible la synthèse des éléments au-delà de Z=120. Cela permettra en outre de produire suffisamment de noyaux au-delà du copernicium (Z=112) pour étudier leurs propriétés chimiques, là où les effets relativistes ne permettent plus d'utiliser la classification périodique des éléments et là où les premiers effets des couches électroniques g seront observés.

Projet - Développement de matériaux innovants pour les faisceaux extrêmes et cibles rares

01/10/2021 - 31/03/2024

Notre compréhension actuelle de la physique atomique et de la cohésion nucléaire repose sur une longue tradition de confrontation entre données expérimentales et modèles théoriques. Bien que tous les modèles s’accordent sur l’existence d’un îlot de regain de stabilité pour les noyaux superlourds, comme ultime empreinte des effets quantiques nucléaires, ils ne sont pas d’accord sur son emplacement. L’approche théorique de la cohésion des atomes démontre la nécessité de tenir compte des effets relativistes dans la région SHE, ce qui limite la classification « traditionnelle » de Mendeleïev. Les premiers atomes basés sur la nouvelle couche g apparaîtront-ils à Z=121 comme prévu par le tableau périodique ? Quelles seront leurs propriétés ? L'oganesson (Z=118), élément le plus lourd synthétisé à ce jour, est-il un gaz rare comme le prévoit le tableau périodique ou un métalloïde du fait de l’influence croissante des effets relativistes ? La vérité viendra des expériences. Les physiciens et chimistes nucléaires vont tirer des contraintes fortes et efficaces sur les modèles théoriques à travers l’étude de ces noyaux extrêmes.

De nouveaux instruments dédiés à l’étude des éléments les plus lourds viennent d’être mis en service en Russie et au Japon. Ils utiliseront des intensités de faisceau sans précédent pour compenser la très faible probabilité de production d’éléments superlourds (SHE). L’IPHC a développé une expertise de premier plan international dans le domaine des faisceaux produits à partir d’ions métalliques à partir de composés organiques volatils (MIVOC). Ce résultat a été obtenu grâce à une collaboration pluridisciplinaire entre chimistes, physiciens et experts des sources d’ions, qui existe depuis près de 10 ans. Ce projet USIAS ouvre une nouvelle collaboration interdisciplinaire autour de la physique des plasmas en sources d’ions avec le développement d'un nouveau four inductif à haute température destiné à permettre aux nouvelles installations de fonctionner à leur intensité nominale avec des faisceaux de 50Ti et 54Cr isotopiques.

Avec jusqu’à 60 billions (6 1013) d'ions lourds par seconde, la puissance de spot du faisceau sera insoutenable pour les feuilles de cible basées sur des matériaux standard. La recherche de nouveaux matériaux existants ou la mise au point de matériaux innovants revêtent une importance capitale pour l’avenir des études SHE. Ce projet USIAS explorera les possibilités actuelles et étudiera en conditions réelles les défauts induits par les ions lourds et les effets de dose pour les nouveaux matériaux cibles et les supports novateurs mis au point dans le cadre du projet. La proximité de l'Institut de physique et chimie des matériaux de Strasbourg (IPCMS) et la collaboration étroite avec le laboratoire national d'Oak Ridge (États-Unis), le FLNR Dubna (Russie) et RIKEN à Tokyo (Japon) constituent une chance unique de développer ces nouveaux matériaux pour la science, les applications nucléaires et même les applications spatiales. Les problématiques abordées dans le projet USIAS visent à libérer le verrou technologique le plus critique pour les nouvelles installations scientifiques dédiées à la science des éléments superlourds. Sans ces feuilles de matériaux innovants, les nouvelles usines à éléments superlourds ne pourront pas fonctionner à leur intensité nominale. Ce développement est par conséquent crucial pour la production des prochains éléments SHE !

Investissements d'Avenir