Université de Strasbourg

Thomas Ebbesen receives the Kavli Prize

10 September 2014

On September 9, Thomas Ebbesen received the Kavli Prize 2014 from His Majesty King Harald of Norway at the Kavli Prize Award Ceremony in Oslo, Norway. Thomas Ebbesen is director of USIAS and holds the USIAS Chair of Physical Chemistry of light-matter interactions. The Kavli Prize is awarded every two years in the domains Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience. The nine Kavli Prize winners received their prizes including a gold medal, a scroll and a share of 1 million US dollars in each of the three prize categories.

The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience is shared between Thomas W. Ebbesen, Stefan W. Hell and Sir John B. Pendry. They receive the Kavli Prize “for their transformative contributions to the field of nano-optics that have broken long-held beliefs about the limitations of the resolution limits of optical microscopy and imaging.”

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience is awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

More information and video of the ceremony : www.kavliprize.org



France 2030