Université de Strasbourg

Thomas Ebbesen appointed to Presidential Science Council

15 May 2024

Thomas Ebbesen, Director and Chair of Physical Chemistry of Light-Matter Interactions at the University of Strasbourg Institute for Advanced Study (USIAS), is one of 14 high-level scientists appointed by the French President of the Republic to his Presidential Science Council.  

This new body, established in December 2023, exemplifies President Macron's intention to place science at the heart of public decision-making and his vision of the country's future. The council is made up of high-level scientists representing all disciplines, who will provide support to the President of the Republic by presenting him with the latest advances in research and advising him on current and future challenges facing the country. 

The council held its first meeting with Emmanuel Macron and the Minister of Higher Education and Research, Sylvie Retailleau, on 24 April 2024 at the Elysée Palace. The meeting addressed two scientific topics (macrophages and semi-conductors), as well as themes mentioned during the setting-up of the council: the organisation of research and the attractiveness of scientific careers for young people.

Members of the Presidential Science Council:

  • Fabrice André, oncologist, AACR Outstanding Investigator Award for Breast Cancer Research (2021)
  • Alain Aspect, physicist, Nobel Prize in Physics (2022), CNRS Gold Medal (2005)
  • Lucien Bély, historian and member of the Academy of Moral and Political Science of the Institut de France
  • Aude Bernheim, microbiologist, Collège de France Prize (2022)
  • Hugo Duminil-Copin, mathematician, Fields Medal (2022)
  • Thomas Ebbesen, physical chemist, CNRS Gold Medal (2019), Kavli Prize for Nanoscience (2014)
  • Françoise Gaill, biologist and oceanographer, Grand Officer of the French National Order of the Legion of Honour (2022)
  • Anne-Marie Kermarrec, computer scientist, Inria/Dassault Systems Innovation Award from the French Academy of Science (2017)
  • Sandra Lavorel, ecologist, CNRS Gold Medal (2023)
  • José-Alain Sahel, ophthalmologist, CNRS Innovation Medal (2012)
  • Pascale Senellart, physicist, CNRS Silver Medal (2014)
  • Claudine Tiercelin, philosopher and member of the Academy of Moral and Political Sciences of the Institut de France

More information

Savoir(s): Meeting with Thomas Ebbesen (in French) 

France 2030