Université de Strasbourg

Petros Stangos

Biography - Petros Stangos

Faculty of Law, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece & USIAS Fellow in the research unit Law, Religion, Business and Society (DRES), University of Strasbourg and CNRS

Petros Stangos, USIAS Fellow 2020

Petros Stangos was born in Thessaloniki (Greece). With a scholarship from the French government, he gained a PhD in international law in 1979 at the University of Dijon. He began his academic career in 1982 and became full professor of international economic law and EU law at the Faculty of Law of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in 1997, and Jean Monnet Chair of European Human Rights Law in 2000. He has furthermore held the position of professor of EU law at the National School of Judges (1997-2004) and has been president of the management board of the Centre for European Legal Culture at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki since 2018.

Professor Stangos has been visiting professor of EU law in many European universities, and Fellow of the Nantes Institute for Advanced Study (2014-2015). He was elected as vice-president of the European Committee of Social Rights (ECSR), twice, from 2013-2014 and 2015-2016, and has been a member of the ECSR between 2009-2020. He has been ex officio member of the Supreme Special Court of Greece (2006 and 2007), member of Greece’s National Commission for Human Rights (2006-2012) and chair of the second sub-commission for social, economic and cultural rights (2010-2012). Petros Stangos was also senior expert (2006-2008) of the Greek branch of the Network of Legal Experts in the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA-LEX), and has acted as a legal consultant in both the private and the public sector (Greek Ministry of Foreign Affairs, World Trade Organization). 

Throughout his career, Professor Stangos has managed and participated in numerous European and Greek research projects, mainly in the field of anti-discrimination law and European human rights law, and published many articles and books. His areas of expertise span EU economic law, national and European social rights law, national and European anti-discrimination law, international economic law, and public international law.

During his time in Strasbourg, Professor Stangos will be welcomed by Dr. Mélanie Schmitt in the research unit Law, Religion, Business and Society (DRES).

Project – The making of the European social jurisprudence

01/10/2020 - 30/09/2022

As is the case with other international and European human rights instruments, the articles of the European Social Charter (ESC) are formulated, in their heading alone, as rights. However, the content of each article is shaped by the obligation, established at the expense of contracting governments, to take specific action in the areas where what has been called a ‘right’ can be applied. In this articulation between the formulation of a right and the ensuing obligations of governments to take specific measures, it is commonly assumed that there is no obvious sign of a norm that can be evoked for the benefit of those persons to whom the governmental measures apply.

The research project aims to refute this assumption, by researching and demonstrating how the European Committee of Social Rights - that monitors the implementation of the ESC by the contracting governments, within the framework of its collective complaints procedure - is able to deduce norms from the above mentioned articulation, which apply to the specific situation of the persons involved in the collective complaint. These norms require behavioural commitments of the contracting governments, as well as the achievement of results that meet the set guidelines in the areas of employment relations and social protection. The norms, highlighted and elucidated by the research project, will represent the “hard core” of public, social and labour policies of European governments. This normative “hard core” could subsequently be interpreted as a building block of a common European social model, which has already been a subject of intense discussion over the past ten years in academic and political circles.

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Petros Stangos

Biographie - Petros Stangos

Faculté de droit, université Aristote de Thessalonique, Grèce & Fellow USIAS dans l’UMR 7354 Droit, religion, entreprise et société (DRES), université de Strasbourg et CNRS

Petros Stangos, USIAS Fellow 2020Petros Stangos est né à Thessalonique (Grèce). Boursier du gouvernement français de 1975 à 1979, il a obtenu son doctorat d’État en droit international à l’université de Dijon (1979). Il a débuté sa carrière universitaire en 1982 et a été nommé professeur titulaire de droit économique international et de droit de l'Union européenne à la faculté de droit de l’université Aristote de Thessalonique en 1997, puis chaire Jean Monnet de droit européen des droits de l'homme en 2000. Il a également été professeur de droit de l’Union européenne à l'École nationale de la magistrature de Grèce (1997-2004), et est président du Conseil d’administration du Centre pour la culture juridique européenne de l’université Aristote de Thessalonique depuis 2018.

Le professeur Stangos a en outre été professeur invité de droit de l'UE dans de nombreuses universités européennes, et Fellow de l'Institut d’études avancées de Nantes (2014-2015).  Il a été élu vice-président du Comité européen des droits sociaux (CEDS) à deux reprises, de 2013 à 2014 et de 2015 à 2016, et a été membre de cette institution de 2009 à 2020. Par ailleurs, il a été membre ex officio de la Cour suprême de Grèce (2006 et 2007), membre du Comité national hellénique des droits de l'homme (2006-2012) et président de la 2e section (Droits économiques, sociaux et culturels, 2010-2012). Le professeur Stangos était également expert principal de la branche grecque du réseau d'experts juridiques de l’Agence des droits fondamentaux de l'Union européenne (FRA-LEX, 2006-2008), et a exercé en tant que consultant juridique dans les secteurs privé comme public (ministère grec des Affaires étrangères, Organisation mondiale du commerce-Genève).

Au cours de sa carrière, il a été responsable ou associé à de nombreux projets de recherche, européens et helléniques, principalement dans les domaines du droit antidiscrimination et du droit européen des droits de l'homme, et a publié de nombreux articles et ouvrages. Ses domaines d’expertise recouvrent principalement le droit économique de l'Union européenne, le droit national et européen des droits sociaux, le droit antidiscrimination national et européen, le droit économique international et le droit public international.

Lors de son séjour à Strasbourg, le professeur Stangos sera accueilli par le Dr. Mélanie Schmitt dans l’UMR 7354 Droit, religion, entreprise et société (DRES).

Projet – La fabrique de la jurisprudence sociale européenne

01/10/2020 - 30/09/2022

Les dispositions de la Charte sociale européenne (CSE) sont libellées, dans leur titre et uniquement dans celui-ci, en tant que droits. Cependant, le contenu de chaque disposition est façonné par l’obligation établie aux dépens des gouvernements contractants de prendre des mesures spécifiques dans les domaines où ce qui a été appelé « droit » trouve application. Dans cette articulation entre la formulation d'un droit et les obligations qui en découlent pour les gouvernements contractants de prendre des mesures spécifiques, l'hypothèse est qu'il n'y a aucun signe apparent d'une norme qui puisse être évoquée au bénéfice des personnes entrant dans le champ d’application des mesures gouvernementales.

Ce projet de recherche vise à réfuter cette hypothèse. En effet, son objectif est de rechercher et de montrer de quelle manière le Comité européen des droits sociaux, qui surveille la mise en œuvre de la CSE par les gouvernements contractants, dans le cadre de sa procédure de réclamations collectives, déduit des normes de l'articulation précitée, applicables dans le chef des personnes concernées par une réclamation collective. Ces normes exigent des gouvernements contractants des engagements de comportement et de résultats dans les domaines des relations de travail et de la protection sociale. Les normes, mises en évidence et élucidées par le projet de recherche, représenteront le « noyau dur » des politiques publiques nationales d’emploi et de protection sociale. Ce « noyau dur » normatif pourrait par la suite être interprété comme l'élément constitutif d'un modèle social européen commun, qui fait déjà l'objet de discussions intenses ces dix dernières années parmi les universitaires ainsi que les hommes et femmes politiques.

Investissements d'Avenir