Université de Strasbourg

Franck Fischbach & Éric Pineault

Biography – Franck Fischbach

Research Centre for Contemporary and German Philosophy (CREPHAC), University of Strasbourg

Franck Fischbach, USIAS Fellow 2020Franck Fischbach is a former student of the French École normale supérieure de Fontenay-Saint-Cloud (1987); after an Agrégation in philosophy (1991), he obtained his PhD (1996) and subsequently a professorial thesis in philosophy (2002) from the Pantheon-Sorbonne University of Paris. He was professor at the universities of Toulouse-Jean Jaurès (1997-2009) and Côte d'Azur in Nice (2009-2013) before becoming, in 2013, professor of modern and contemporary German philosophy at the University of Strasbourg, where he is a researcher attached to the Research Centre for Contemporary and German Philosophy (CREPHAC). Professor Fischbach was dean of the Faculty of Philosophy from 2014 to 2018. He is currently president of Section 17 (Philosophy) of the National Council of Universities (CNU).

His research initially focused on German idealism (Fichte, Hegel, Schelling) and its Heideggerian reception in France and Germany, then - via Young Hegelianism and the problematic of activity and practice - on Marx and critical theory. Franck Fischbach contributes to the epistemological and historical legitimisation of the field of social philosophy by devoting his work to problems and issues (recognition, alienation, work, socialism, social criticism) falling within its domain. His work is currently oriented in two directions: on the one hand a questioning of the articulation between society and nature and, on the other hand, a problematisation of "doing together" and joint action.

He is the author of several books in French, on the following topics: How to begin in Philosophy? Study on Hegel and Schelling (Vrin, 1999), The Recognition. Fichte and Hegel (PUF, 1999), Being and Acting (Vrin, 2003), The Production of Men (PUF, 2005), Objectless. Capitalism, Subjectivity, Alienation (Vrin, 2009), Manifesto for a Social Philosophy (La Découverte, 2009), World Deprivation. Time, Space and Capital (Vrin, 2011), The Meaning of the Social (Lux, 2015), Marx's Philosophies (Vrin, 2015), What is a Socialist Government? (Lux, 2017), and After Production. Labour, Nature and Capital (Vrin, 2019).

Biography - Éric Pineault

Institute of Environmental Science, University of Québec in Montréal (UQAM), Canada & USIAS Fellow, Research Centre for Contemporary and German Philosophy (CREPHAC), University of Strasbourg

Éric Pineault, USIAS Fellow 2020Éric Pineault holds a PhD in the economics of institutions and sociology from the French École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) and Canadian University of Québec in Montreal (UQAM) in 2002. The focus of his research throughout his career has been to contribute to the political economy and critical theory of advanced capitalism. In his dissertation (1999-2002) he studied the structure and emergence of financialised accumulation regime in advanced capitalism. He became professor at the department of sociology of UQAM in 2003 and continued to study financialisation from a more empirical angle, which led to a number of book chapters and scholarly publications on how this form of accumulation impacted firms and households.

During and after the 2008 financial crisis, his research focus moved to the structural and macro-economic impacts of the austerity policies pursued by various governments, and more particularly of austerity as a form of class struggle from above. This research agenda was developed collaboratively with social movements and trade unions struggling in Québec against these policies. In parallel, Professor Pineault also developed an analytical framework to study the extractive industries in Canada, in particular how the development of the Tar Sands has impacted the trajectory of Canadian Capitalism. It is in this context that he was introduced to the field of social metabolism and ecological economics. His current focus, the development of a social ecology of capital, rests on the integration of these findings and concepts with the political economy of advanced capitalism.

Éric Pineault currently teaches ecological economics and social ecology at the Institute of Environmental Science of UQAM, and economic sociology in its sociology department. As of 1 June 2020, he is the director of the Institute of Environmental Science. 

Professor Pineault has published many papers and book chapters in the above fields, as well as Le Piège Énergie Est (The trap of the Energy East pipeline), with David Murray, in 2016.

During his time in Strasbourg, Professor Pineault will be welcomed by Professor Fischbach and Professor Anne Merker to the Research Centre for Contemporary and German Philosophy (CREPHAC).

Project – A natural history of advanced capitalism

01/11/2020 - 31/05/2022

The thesis that modern industrial societies have freed themselves from a dependence on space that characterised agricultural societies was first developed by the German historian and environmental theorist Rolf Peter Sieferle. The objective of this project is to deepen this thesis and to complement it with the idea that these same modern societies, freed from dependence on space, have fallen into a new dependence: dependence on geological time. All societies prior to industrial capitalist social formations had a metabolism bounded and limited by their capacity to appropriate the fruits of biological productivity. Subsistence and surplus were mediated by space and by the ecological processes that determined biological productivity.

In contemporary capitalist societies, geology – in the form of fossil fuels and the massive extraction of minerals and metals through machinery energised by fossil fuels – mediates the production of all commodities. Without geology, labour power would be unable to mediate the social metabolism of contemporary societies. We have seemingly emancipated ourselves from the boundedness of space based biological productivity and ecology. And yet the geological mediation of the metabolism of advanced capitalist societies, which has sustained unprecedented economic growth and accumulation of surpluses, has its own boundedness in the form of climate change. The question we are asking is whether advanced capitalist societies have not fallen into a new dependence: by tapping into the immense store of accumulated power that are fossil fuels to accelerate their growth, these societies may have subsumed themselves to the slow irreversibility of geological time that has been accelerated by their own activities.

The objective of the project is to contribute to the analysis of the historicity of capitalist societies, as well as to the understanding of the ecological contradictions of their development. Though the natural science of global warming and climate change works with the concept of slow geological time, and does understand anthropic impact as accelerating this time, fundamental – philosophical – inquiry into the nature of geological time as a mode of subsumption of capitalist development has not been undertaken. And if “acceleration” is a key word to understand the culture and dynamics of contemporary capitalist societies (Rosa, 2005), including their environmental impact, a fundamental inquiry into the acceleration of natural history by capital has not either been explored. Finally, Professors Fischbach and Pineault want to contribute to debates within contemporary Marxian theory, in particular concerning the priority of space over time, which has been put forward by authors such as Anderson and Jameson. It will also enrich the concepts of “abstract time” and “abstract energy” developed by Postone (1994) and Lohmann (2014).

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Franck Fischbach & Éric Pineault

Biographie – Franck Fischbach

Centre de recherches en philosophie allemande et contemporaine (CREPHAC) - UR 2326, université de Strasbourg

Franck Fischbach, USIAS Fellow 2020Franck Fischbach est ancien élève de l’école normale supérieure de Fontenay-Saint-Cloud (1987), agrégé de philosophie (1991), docteur (1996) habilité (2002) en philosophie de l’université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Il a été enseignant-chercheur au sein des universités de Toulouse-Jean-Jaurès (1997-2009) et de Nice-Côte d’Azur (2009-2013) avant de devenir, en 2013, professeur en philosophie allemande moderne et contemporaine à l’université de Strasbourg, où il est chercheur rattaché au Centre de recherches en philosophie allemande et contemporaine (CREPHAC, UR 2326). Le professeur Fischbach a été doyen de la faculté de philosophie de 2014 à 2018. Il est actuellement président de la section 17 (philosophie) du Conseil national des universités (CNU).

Ses recherches ont d’abord porté sur l’idéalisme allemand (Fichte, Hegel, Schelling) ainsi que sa réception heideggerienne, puis – via l’étude du jeune-hégélianisme et la problématique de l’activité et de la pratique – sur Marx et la théorie critique. Franck Fischbach contribue à légitimer épistémologiquement et historiquement le domaine de la philosophie sociale en consacrant ses travaux à des problèmes et à des enjeux (la reconnaissance, l’aliénation, le travail, le social, le socialisme, la critique sociale) relevant du domaine de celle-ci. Son travail s’oriente actuellement dans deux directions : d’une part un questionnement de l’articulation entre société et nature, d’autre part une problématisation du « faire ensemble » et de l’action conjointe.

Il est l’auteur de plusieurs ouvrages en nom propre, parmi lesquels : Du commencement en philosophie. Étude sur Hegel et Schelling (Vrin, 1999), La reconnaissance. Fichte et Hegel (PUF, 1999), L’Être et l’Acte (Vrin, 2003), La production des hommes (PUF, 2005), Sans objet. Capitalisme, subjectivité, aliénation (Vrin, 2009), Manifeste pour une philosophie sociale (La Découverte, 2009), La privation de monde. Temps, espace et capital (Vrin, 2011), Le sens du social (Lux, 2015), Philosophies de Marx (Vrin, 2015), Qu’est-ce qu’un gouvernement socialiste ? (Lux, 2017), et Après la production. Travail, nature et capital (Vrin, 2019).

Biographie - Éric Pineault

Institut des sciences de l’environnement, université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), Canada & Fellow USIAS, Centre de recherches en philosophie allemande et contemporaine (CREPHAC) - UR 2326, université de Strasbourg

Éric Pineault, USIAS Fellow 2020Éric Pineault est titulaire d’un doctorat en cotutelle en économie des institutions et en sociologie de l’École des hautes études en sciences sociales de Paris et de l’université du Québec à Montréal (2002). Depuis, le cœur de ses recherches consiste à contribuer à l’économie politique et à la théorie critique du capitalisme avancé. Ses recherches doctorales (1999-2002) portaient sur l’émergence et les structures d’un régime d’accumulation financiarisée dans le capitalisme avancé. En 2003, il devient professeur au département de sociologie de l’université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), où il continue à analyser la financiarisation, mais d’un point de vue plus empirique, ce qui a mené à plusieurs publications sur les impacts de ce régime sur les firmes et les ménages.

Après la crise de 2008, ses recherches se concentrent sur les impacts structuraux et macro-économiques des politiques d’austérité, qu’il analyse comme une forme de lutte de classe menée par le haut de la société. Ce programme de recherche a été élaboré en collaboration avec les mouvements sociaux et syndicaux de lutte contre ces politiques au Québec. En parallèle, le professeur Pineault développe un cadre analytique permettant d’étudier le développement du secteur extractif au Canada, en particulier la manière dont l’industrie des sables bitumineux façonne la trajectoire du capitalisme canadien. C’est dans ce contexte qu’il s’est initié aux travaux en métabolisme social et en économie écologique. Ses recherches actuelles sur l’écologie sociale du capital portent sur l’intégration de ses approches et de leurs concepts à l’économie politique du capitalisme avancé.

À l’UQAM, Éric Pineault enseigne l’économie écologique et l’écologie sociale au sein de l’institut des sciences de l’environnement, et la sociologie économique au département de sociologie.  À compter du 1er juin 2020, il deviendra directeur de l’institut des sciences de l’environnement. 

Le professeur Pineault a publié plusieurs articles et chapitres de livres sur les thèmes présentés ci-dessus. En 2016, il a publié avec David Murray Le piège Énergie Est chez Écosociété. 

Lors de son séjour à Strasbourg, le professeur Pineault sera accueilli par le professeur Fischbach et le professeur Anne Merker au Centre de recherches en philosophie allemande et contemporaine (CREPHAC).

Projet – Histoire naturelle du capitalisme avancé

01/11/2020 - 31/05/2022

La thèse selon laquelle les sociétés industrielles modernes se sont libérées de la dépendance à l'espace qui caractérisait les sociétés agraires a été développée pour la première fois par l'historien et théoricien de l'environnement allemand Rolf Peter Sieferle. L’objectif de ce projet est d'approfondir cette thèse et de la compléter par l'idée que ces mêmes sociétés modernes, libérées de la dépendance à l'espace, sont tombées dans une nouvelle dépendance : la dépendance au temps géologique. En effet, toutes les sociétés antérieures aux formations sociales capitalistes industrielles jouissaient d’un métabolisme limité et restreint par leur capacité à s'approprier les fruits de la productivité biologique. La subsistance et les surplus étaient médiés par l'espace et par les processus écologiques qui déterminaient la productivité biologique.

Dans les sociétés capitalistes contemporaines, la géologie - sous forme de combustibles fossiles et d'extraction massive de minéraux et de métaux par des machines elles-mêmes alimentées par des combustibles fossiles - sert de médiateur pour la production de toutes les marchandises. Sans la géologie, la force de travail serait incapable d'assurer le métabolisme social propre aux sociétés contemporaines. Nous nous sommes apparemment émancipés des limites de la productivité biologique et de l'écologie basées sur l'espace. Et pourtant, la médiation géologique du métabolisme des sociétés capitalistes avancées, qui a soutenu une croissance économique et une accumulation de surplus sans précédent, rencontre ses propres limites sous la forme du changement climatique. La question que nous posons est de savoir si les sociétés capitalistes avancées ne seraient pas tombées dans une nouvelle dépendance : en exploitant l'immense réserve de puissance accumulée que sont les combustibles fossiles pour accélérer leur croissance, ces sociétés se sont soumises à la lente irréversibilité du temps géologique qui a été accélérée par leurs propres activités.

L'objectif de ce projet est de contribuer à l'analyse de l'historicité propre aux sociétés capitalistes avancées, ainsi qu'à la compréhension des contradictions écologiques de leur développement. Bien que la science naturelle du réchauffement global et du changement climatique travaille avec le concept de temps géologique lent et comprenne que l'impact anthropique accélère ce temps, une enquête fondamentale – c’est-à-dire philosophique – portant sur la nature du temps géologique en tant que mode de subsomption du développement capitaliste n'a pas encore été entreprise. Et si « accélération » est devenu un mot clé pour comprendre la culture et la dynamique des sociétés capitalistes contemporaines (Rosa, 2005), y compris leur impact environnemental, une enquête fondamentale sur l'accélération de l’histoire naturelle par le capital reste à réaliser elle aussi. Enfin, l’enquête des professeurs Fischbach et Pineault veut contribuer aux débats au sein de la théorie marxienne contemporaine, en particulier concernant la priorité de l'espace sur le temps, mise en avant par des auteurs tels qu'Anderson et Jameson, de même qu’elle espère également contribuer à enrichir les concepts de « temps abstrait » et d'« énergie abstraite » développés par Postone (1994) et Lohmann (2014).

Investissements d'Avenir