Université de Strasbourg

Ursula Apitzsch

Biography

Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main, Germany & USIAS Fellow, European Dynamics (DynamE), University of Strasbourg

Ursula Apitzsch, USIAS Fellow 2017

Ursula Apitzsch is since 1993 Full Professor of Political Science and Sociology at Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main, and since October 2016 Senior Professor in the field of the History of Political Ideas. She is member of the Board of Directors of the Frankfurt Centre for Women’s and Gender Studies. From 2000-2002 she was Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences. Since 1998 she is a board member of the Research Committee “Biography and Society” of the International Sociological Association.

She has published broadly in the fields of the history of ideas, culture, migration, and biographical policy-analysis. She has excellent experience in empirical social research - with special regard to qualitative methods - and has been the leading researcher in several European research projects on different generations of migrant groups, directed in co-operation with the Frankfurt Institute of Social Research and ten European universities. She also published on problems of cross-national policy evaluation; politics of ethnicity; migrants’ self-employment; and on biographical analysis with special regard to gender, migration and citizenship.

 List of publications

Project - Biographical achievements and negotiations of belongings among the descendants of immigrant families

A qualitative comparative study on the impact of policies in two generations in the metropolitan areas of Strasbourg and Frankfurt am Main

May 2017 - April 2019

Exclusion and renewed negotiations for belonging among the younger generations of migrants have triggered an overall social transformation in the political, social and cultural spheres. Its analytic understanding requires new definitions of, or at least revisions to existing concepts in order to account for the social and cultural on-going crises in experiences, claims for equality of rights, participation in - and feeling of “ownership” of – civic society processes. In this study, identity formation will be conceptualised as the outcome of biographical processes and negotiations of belonging. Identity formation is understood as a dynamic and relatively flexible component of multiple and hybrid relations of ethnicity, nationality and culture in the context of inter-generational family dynamics. This study will try to answer how belonging is constituted, who participates in its construction, and what strategies, policies and politics have been developed in relation to its formation as a relational and dynamic process.

The project will follow immigrants’ children’s life courses in order to examine to which extent and at what costs the aims of family migration and the expectations of belonging to the society of arrival were reached. The aim of this comparative research project in the metropolitan areas of Strasbourg/Alsace and Frankfurt/Main is to understand the dynamics of belonging and exclusion among descendants of migrants in France and Germany by conducting biographical research on two migrant generations. We aim to increase knowledge of intergenerational relationships, gender relations, transformation and crisis among the younger generations. The study will also reveal the effects of social policies on individual life courses. We will identify and compare those public policies that have more or less fostered integration and a sense of both recognition and belonging, by using the method of biographical policy evaluation, developed by Professor Apitzsch in former EU projects in several European countries. The project will focus on three thematic areas: school achievement, especially policies to foster language learning; marriage strategies; and professional achievement, also through the creation of “ethnic” business. Our research will perform and analyse biographical interviews with parents and their adult children between 18 and 28 years, female and male, in a theoretically built up sample of families on each side. Parents and children will be interviewed at length, following a ‘biography’ protocol that will leave them ample space to express their own views, and to comment on public policies of which they had some direct experience, or whose absence they experienced as an unfulfilled need. The data collected and analyzed in this USIAS research project will be included in the MIGREVAL database and thus made available to all researchers who access to it.

Professor Lena Inowlocki (Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main) and Professor Catherine Delcroix (University of Strasbourg) are collaborating with Professor Apitzsch on this project.

 

Post-doc biography: Dieudonné Kobanda Ngbenza

European Dynamics (DynamE), University of Strasbourg

Dieudonné Kobanda Ngbenza, USIAS post-doc 2017

Dieudonné Kobanda Ngbenza, Doctor in sociology, graduated from the University of Strasbourg and is a lecturer and researcher in the European Dynamics (DynamE) research unit.

His doctoral thesis "The life course of isolated foreign children in France: contexts and Situations" was awarded in 2014 with top honours and conducted under the supervision of Professor Catherine Delcroix (University of Strasbourg). The research for the thesis, carried out mainly in Strasbourg and in the Paris region, was supplemented by a field study in Belgium. Over a time span of nearly five years, the survey mobilized 252 unaccompanied foreign minors of 42 nationalities. By tracing their passage through the administrative institutions, the thesis analysed the profile of these young migrants as well as the positive and negative aspects of their care in a host society in the process of legislative, institutional and societal change. One the one hand, the study reconstructed, questioned and analysed the issues pertaining to the route of the minors and building of a new life and, on the other, identified the challenges for the social and institutional actors accompanying them.

Dr. Kobanda's book, entitled "Enfants isolés étrangers. Une vie et un parcours faits d’obstacles" was published by L'Harmattan, collection "Logics sociales", in April 2016.

Links

Website for MIGREVAL - l’Evaluation biographique des politiques par les migrants en Europe (a biographical evaluation of politics by migrants in Europe)

Investissements d'Avenir

Université de Strasbourg

Ursula Apitzsch

Biographie

Université Goethe de Francfort-sur-le-Main, Allemagne & Fellow USIAS, Dynamiques européennes (DynamE), université de Strasbourg

Ursula Apitzsch, USIAS Fellow 2017

Ursula Apitzsch est professeur titulaire de sciences politiques et de sociologie à l'université Goethe de Francfort-sur-le-Main depuis 1993, et professeur titulaire d'histoire d'idées politiques depuis octobre 2016. Elle est également membre du conseil d'administration du Centre for Women’s and Gender Studies de Francfort. De 2000 à 2002, elle était doyenne de la faculté des sciences sociales. Depuis 1998, elle est membre du conseil du comité de recherche « Biographie et société » de l'International Sociological Association.

Elle a abondamment publié dans les domaines de l'histoire des idées, de la culture, des migrations et de l'analyse biographique des politiques. Experte en matière de recherche sociale empirique, en particulier des méthodes qualitatives, elle a dirigé plusieurs projets de recherche européens sur différentes générations de groupes de migrants, menés en coopération avec l'Institut de recherche sociale de Francfort et dix universités européennes. Elle a également écrit sur les problèmes d'évaluation des politiques transnationales, les politiques de l'ethnicité, le travail indépendant des migrants et l'analyse biographique, particulièrement en termes de genre, de migration et de citoyenneté.

Liste de publications

Projet - Parcours de vie et négociation des appartenances chez les descendants de familles immigrées

Une étude comparative qualitative de l'impact des politiques sur deux générations dans les régions métropolitaines de Strasbourg et de Francfort-sur-le-Main

Mai 2017 - avril 2019

L'exclusion et la négociation sans cesse renouvelée de l'appartenance parmi les jeunes générations issues de l'immigration ont engendré une vaste transformation dans les sphères politique, sociale et culturelle. La compréhension analytique de ce phénomène exige de nouvelles définitions, ou tout au moins une révision des concepts existants afin de rendre compte des crises sociales et culturelles actuelles en termes d'expériences, de revendication d'égalité des droits, de participation aux processus de la société civile et d'appropriation de ces derniers. Dans cette étude, la formation de l'identité sera conceptualisée en tant que résultante des processus biographiques et des négociations de l'appartenance. La formation de l'identité est comprise comme une composante dynamique et relativement flexible de relations d'ethnicité, de nationalité et culturelles multiples et hybrides, dans le contexte de dynamiques familiales intergénérationnelles. L'étude tentera de montrer comment se constitue l'appartenance, qui participe à sa construction, et quelles stratégies et politiques ont été développées en rapport avec sa formation en tant que processus relationnel et dynamique.

Le projet suivra les parcours de vie d'enfants d'immigrés afin d'examiner à quel degré et à quel prix les objectifs de la migration familiale et les attentes quant à l'appartenance à la société d'accueil ont été atteints. L'objectif de cette recherche comparative dans les régions métropolitaines de Strasbourg et de Francfort-sur-le-Main est de comprendre les dynamiques de l'appartenance et de l'exclusion chez les descendants de migrants en France et en Allemagne, par le biais de d'études biographiques menées chez deux générations de migrants. Nous espérons ainsi accroître la connaissance des relations intergénérationnelles, des rapports de genre, des transformations et des crises chez les jeunes générations. L'étude révèlera également les effets des politiques sociales sur les parcours de vie individuels. Nous identifierons et comparerons les politiques publiques ayant plus ou moins encouragé l'intégration, ainsi qu’un sentiment de reconnaissance et d'appartenance, à l'aide de la méthode d'évaluation biographique des politiques développée par le professeur Apitzsch dans de précédents projets européens s'intéressant à plusieurs pays. Ce projet se concentrera sur trois domaines thématiques : la réussite scolaire, en particulier les politiques encourageant l'apprentissage des langues, les stratégies matrimoniales et la réussite professionnelle, également à travers la création de commerces « ethniques ». Dans ce cadre, nous procéderons à la réalisation et à l'analyse d'entretiens biographiques avec des parents et leurs enfants adultes entre 18 et 28 ans, hommes et femmes, sur un échantillon de familles élaboré de manière théorique des deux côtés de la frontière. Parents et enfants seront interviewés de manière exhaustive, selon un protocole « biographique » laissant une large place à l'expression de leurs opinions personnelles et de leurs commentaires sur les politiques publiques dont ils ont une expérience directe, ou dont l'absence a laissé selon eux certains besoins sans réponse. Les données recueillies et analysées dans ce projet de recherche USIAS seront incluses dans la base de données MIGREVAL et mises à la disposition de tous les chercheurs y ayant accès.

Les professeurs Lena Inowlocki (université Goethe de Francfort-sur-le-Main) et Catherine Delcroix (université de Strasbourg) collaborent avec le professeur Apitzsch sur ce projet.

Biographie post-doc: Dieudonné Kobanda Ngbenza

Dynamiques européennes (DynamE), université de Strasbourg

Dieudonné Kobanda Ngbenza, USIAS post-doc 2017

Docteur en sociologie diplômé de l’université de Strasbourg, Dieudonné Kobanda Ngbenza y est Chargé de cours et Chargé de recherches au sein du laboratoire « Dynamiques européennes » (UMR 7367).

Sa thèse de doctorat (2014 ; mention très bien avec félicitations du jury) a été réalisée sous la direction de Catherine Delcroix, professeure à l’université de Strasbourg, et portait sur « Le parcours de vie des enfants isolés étrangers en France : contextes et situations ». Les recherches, réalisées principalement à Strasbourg et en région parisienne, ont été complétées par une étude de terrain en Belgique. Durant près de 5 ans, l’enquête a mobilisé 252 enfants isolés étrangers de 42 nationalités. En suivant leur parcours institutionnel, cette thèse a analysé le profil de ces jeunes migrants ainsi que les atouts et écueils de leur prise en charge dans une société d’accueil en pleine mutation législative, institutionnelle et sociétale. L’étude a reconstitué, questionné et analysé les enjeux de parcours et de construction de vie pour ces mineurs d’une part, et les défis d’accompagnement de ce public pour les acteurs sociaux et institutionnels d’autre part.

L’ouvrage de Dieudonné Kobanda Ngbenza, intitulé « Enfants isolés étrangers. Une vie et un parcours faits d’obstacles » est paru chez L’Harmattan, collection Logiques sociales, en avril 2016.

Investissements d'Avenir