Université de Strasbourg

Nobel laureate 2016 Jean-Pierre Sauvage joins the Governing Board of USIAS

05 December 2016

Professor Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Nobel Prize laureate in Chemistry 2016, has been named USIAS Research Chair in Chemistry and has joined the USIAS Governing Board.

Jean-Pierre Sauvage, professor emeritus at the Université de Strasbourg and CNRS researcher until 2014, has been awarded the 2016 Nobel prize in chemistry, jointly with Sir James Fraser Stoddart (UK), and Bernard L. Feringa (the Netherlands). All three are rewarded for the design and synthesis of "molecular machines". The work of Jean-Pierre Sauvage gives the nanosciences a new dimension with the development of molecular machines capable of reproducing movements of the living world.

In addition to Professor Sauvage, the Governing Board of USIAS counts two other Nobel laureates: Jean-Marie Lehn (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1987) and Jules Hoffmann (Nobel Prize in Medicine 2011).

Investissements d'Avenir